Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

IRP 495 - Distinction in International Relations Seminar (Fall 2020): Home

Research starting points to consider for students enrolled in Dr. Francine D'Amico's IRP 495 course

Welcome to the IRP 495 - SU Libraries Subject Guide

 

  • SU Subject Librarians for economics, international relations and research data services have collaborated to present you these research starting point options for IRP 495.  Do not be intimidated by the wide variety of choices.
     
  • Most IRP 495 students, matching their capstone topic to these research tools and collections, can amass superb information for a project - through use of just a handful of well-thought out choices from starting points presented here.
     
  • Recall that your research process will not only be about starting points and typing keyword search terms into databases, but also how you guide your subsequent research and research design "after" you have gotten results, via your increasingly knowledgable evaluation, and ultimately-presentation, of what you are finding, also leading to more informed subsequent exploration of sources in the future.
     
  • Contact a librarian if you feel stuck or uncertain about your research process or regarding navigating a particular database or search tool.  Immersion improves likelihood of success.  Comfort levels with the various tools like SUMMON, commercial databases, Classic Catalog, etc. increase in direct proportion to your frequency of sustained exploration within these environments.

Recommended Databases

  Scholarly Citation Databases

These two citation databases are powerful research tools that cover a vast scope of interdisciplinary subject matter involving all topic areas. Both also include "times cited" links that allow a researcher or author to follow-up on subsequent citation patterns for an article(s) of interest.

scopus Scopus (Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database, with over 33 million records. Its coverage of Scientific, Technical, Medical and Social Sciences literature includes 15,000 peer-reviewed journals, 1,200 open-access journals, 500 conference proceedings, over 600 trade publications, and 200 book series. Scopus also covers 386 million quality web sources, including 22 million patents).

 

  Web of Science (Is not limited to the sciences. Some may be familiar with this under names like "social sciences citation index," "arts & humanities citation index," et al. Begin with a relevant scholarly article about one's topic and then quickly uncover subsequent authors who cite that work in their own publications.). 

North Korea Studies

Browsing Books by Call Number

Book Call Number and Collection Locations at SU Libraries {pdf}

Although many older books are classified in the Dewey Decimal Classification System, the majority of Syracuse University Libraries print resources are classified in and physically arranged according to the alpha-numeric Library of Congress (LC) Classification System.  The LC system has allocated Class H to some Social Sciences and Class J to Political Science.

Within Class H, Subclasses HB-HJ address various aspects of Economics:

Economic Theory and Demography (HB)
Economic History and Conditions (HC)
Industries, Land Use, and Labor (HD)
Transportation and Communications (HE)
Commerce (HF)
Finance (HG)
Public Finance (HJ)

Within Class J, there is a separate Subclass for International Relations, JZ.

H” call numbers are assigned to Economics holdings that are shelved both in the Reference Collection on the 2nd floor of Bird Library and in the general and oversize stacks on the 3rd floor of Bird Library.

J” call numbers are assigned to Political Science holdings that are shelved in the Reference Collection on the 2nd floor of Bird Library and in the general and oversize stacks on the 4th floor of Bird Library.

To see a full outline of the "H" Class or the "J" Class, open the appropriate document below.  Then click on any Subclasses of interest for outlines of their classification schemes.  Useful for any academic library in the world that uses Library of Congress classification to arrange its books.

Obtaining Sources from Other Libraries (Interlibrary Loan)

If the SU Libraries do not hold an item that you need for your research, we will try to borrow it for you from another library.  Free interlibrary loan (ILL) service is provided through ILLiad, an automated system. Some publications (e.g. journal articles) may be e-mailed directly to you as PDF files. Books must be picked up at Bird Library.

If you haven't used ILLiad before, you will be prompted to fill out a registration form and you may want to take a look at information provided for "First Time Users."