Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

IRP/PSC 412 Global Governance: The United Nations System (Fall 2020): Looking for Books

Librarian curated research starting points for students in Dr. Francine D'Amico's IRP/PSC 412 course

Browse Circulating Books

Looking to physically browse circulating books on International Relations?  Call numbers for such books often begin with
JZ (international relations), or sometimes JX (a now obsolete call number range that includes international law) 
(4th floor, Bird Library). 
 
 
 
 

Explore Scholarly eBooks

Explore these sizable ebook collection, which includes a great many titles covering all disciplines studied at the Maxwell School, including international relations, and specific international organizations like the UN.

Searching for Resources in SUMMON

Summon is the primary search engine for collections at SU Libraries, including both print collections and content from online databases.   Using Summon, you can search the Library website for books, videos, articles, as well as other resources. 
 
Caveat:  Not 100% of the online databases are compatible with SUMMON.  Moreover, sometimes your efficiency may increase if you select specific article databases (or websites or journal titles) pertinent to your subject matter.  Employ a mixture of general broad searching across multiple sources (via SUMMON and/or Google/Google Scholar) with intentional use of specific database sources and tools that fit your research objective.

Summon search engine advanced search screen

Tips for Searching SUMMON 
 

Easily discover the world of library content

More search options

Helpful Key Words and Subject Terms

A few suggested keywords and subject headings you may wish to employ when searching SUMMON:

Civil Rights
Globalization
Human Rights
International Cooperation
International Relations
Women's Rights
 

United Nations
The Term " United Nations" can also be subdivided by country or region ( United Nations-Argentina) or by a specific section of the UN (United Nations. Security Council).