Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

IRP/PSC 412 Global Governance: The United Nations System (Fall 2020): Looking for Journal Articles

Librarian curated research starting points for students in Dr. Francine D'Amico's IRP/PSC 412 course

Databases for articles related to the United Nations

 

 Databases

These are electronic indexes that you can search to locate journal articles, books, and book chapters. To access any of the databases from off campus, you will be prompted for entry of your SU NETID and NETID password. An alternative method is to enter your ten digit SU ID # as a login (make sure that you use all ten digits) and your password is your last name in lower-case letters. Both methods work.  For additional assistance with this, visit the library's website for Working Off Campus.


Recommended Databases:

When exploring articles, you might want to START HERE FIRST:

JSTOR - Full-text archive of scholarly publications in the social sciences, mathematics, sciences, the arts and humanities.  NOTE:  JSTOR employs a "moving wall" concept - where the most current issue dates of any journal covered here are rarely available.  JSTOR concentrates on deep archiving.  The gap in currency for most recent volumes - varies according to journal title - and may only be one year - or for some titles as much as five years.  Use the Library's Journal Locator to determine which other database(s) at the Library contain the most recent volumes and issues for a periodical/journal title of interest.

Proquest - ProQuest is a very large multidisciplinary article database with tens of thousands of scholarly/academic journal titles, as well as references to articles from policy magazines and current and historical newspapers.  If you prefer, you can also limit your exploration to the poli sci segment of Proquest, called Proquest Political Science Database.



SUMMON - SU Libraries primary search engine where you can search for articles as well as books, government publications, numeric data sets, videos, and more...

 

Sage Journals Online - Full access to scholarly journal articles in numerous disciplines, including economics, international relations and political science.

 

Taylor & Francis Online Journals - Journals articles from many subject areas, including area studies, humanities, behavioral sciences, business, economics, education, engineering, environmental topics, language, literature, physical sciences, politics/international relations, social sciences, and more.


Other Suggested Databases:

CIAO
"Columbia International Affairs Online" represents another source for theory and research in international affairs; CIAO includes working papers, conference proceedings, books, journal tables of contents, and other online links.

Digital National Security Archive
More than 35,000 of the most important, declassified documents that led to US policy decisions.

E.I.U.: The Economist Intelligence Unit
Objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment for hundreds of countries.  See especially the section called, "country reports." 

OECD iLibrary
Publications platform from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development.  OECD's online library for books, papers and statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.  Includes browse by menus where these online books and reports can be browsed by country name, topical theme and/or a theme combined with a country (e.g., "governance" is one of the many available topical themes).

PAIS
This database chronicles political and international issues via highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, Internet material and more.  Along with "Worldwide Political Science Abstracts," PAIS is one of SU Libraries' major database indexes to the literature of international affairs and political science.

Peace Research Abstracts
Peace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Political Risk Yearbook Online
Country Reports on 107 countries including political and economic risk analysis.

World Bank eLibrary 
Portal to online publications, books, reports and statistical data from the World Bank.  Browseable by specific topics, or by specific regions and country names.

World Development Indicators Online
Contains statistical data for over 590 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for over 200 countries.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Together with PAIS, represents a major database for international affairs and political science, as well as complementary fields extending into international law, public administration, political psychology, comparative politics and the like.
 

  Watch for the SULinks icon

S U Links

If you see this next to the record for an article in an SU Libraries database, click on it to see if the full-text is available online.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar  can be great for identifying some academic source materials, including journal article references and also some conference papers perhaps not indexed in other databases.  It can also miss important publications.

Google Scholar Search