Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

Feminism: Journal Articles

Offers access to print and online resources and strategies of research on feminist issues, theories and events.

Periodical Comparison Table

Authors Editors Audience Language Sources Advertising Examples
Journalists On staff General public Non-technical, brief

Quotes and facts often attributed in text; citations rare

Common, diverse New York Times, Globe & Mail, (Toronto, CA), Chicago Tribune
Authors Editors Audience Language Sources Advertising Examples
Journalists On staff General public Non-technical, consumer-focused

Quotes and facts often attributed in text; citations rare

Common, diverse Entertainment Weekly, Time, Good Housekeeping
Authors Editors Audience Language Sources Advertising Examples
Practitioners in field On staff General public Moderately technical vocabulary

Quotes and facts often attributed in text; citations rare

Selective, industry-focused

Brandweek, Restaurant Business, ArchitectAutomotive Industries

Authors Editors Audience Language Sources Advertising Examples
Scholars, researchers, experts in field Referees/ Peer Reviewers Scholars, researchers, experts in field Academic language and tone; technical vocabulary

Bibliographies and reference lists; footnotes and in-text citations

Rare, focused on related journals and conferences Journal of African American Studies, Journal of Neuroscience Methods, Active Learning in Higher Education

Web access to Journals

Feminist Review

How to find Journal Articles

Databases

These are electronic indexes that you can search to locate journal articles, books, and book chapters. To access any of the databases from off campus, you will be prompted for a user name and password. Your user name is your ten digit ID # (make sure that you use all ten digits) and your password is your last name in lower-case letters. For additional assistance with this, please go to the Troubleshooting Off-Campus Access page.

 

Recommended Databases:

 

General:

Subject Specific:

Citation Searching

Access to Journals:

To get access to the article, try the Journal locator

 

Citation Searching:

To find out who cited that article in more recent years, try:

SCOPUS
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database, with over 33 million records.

Also try: Google Scholar

SU Links Icon

Watch for the SULinks icon

If you see this icon next to the record for an article in one of our databases, click on it to see if the full-text is available online through the library