Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About this guide
The links on this webpage are meant to help you to identify sources for your work in ENG 407. You can contact Patrick Williams if you have any questions about doing so or to get recommendations based on your interests.
Oxford Reference Online
Reference books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Annotated bibliographies browseable by subject and searchable. Links to full text may need to supplemented by searching SU Libraries collections.
Humanities Subject Specialist
Recommended Databases for Secondary Sources
ProQuest One Literature
Comprehensive, diverse database for the study of literature
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Modern Language Association bibliography of publications related to language, literature, folklore, and linguistics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Film and Television Literature Index
Index to journals and magazines covering cinematography, television, production, reviews and more.
Historical Abstracts with Full-text
Index to articles about world history, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Covers history of specific subjects in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
You can use Summon to locate articles, book chapters, and books available electronically. Start from the Library homepage and enter your search terms. Then, on the search results page, filter by selecting "Full Text Online" under Refine Your Search. You may limit just to ebooks by also selecting "Book/eBook" under Content Type.
This is an enormous system that searches across over 700 of our subscription databases, so depending on your search terms you may get lots of irrelevant search results. To focus more on the disciplines and publications that are likely to serve as strong sources for your assignments, take a look at the specific subject databases below.
The MLA Style
MLA: Modern Language Association
MLA style for documentation is widely used in the humanities, especially in writing on language and literature.
From the MLA website:
EXAMPLES: MLA Style Citations