The resources on this page are intended to help you with your work on your second paper in Professor Scheibel's ENG 340: Film Noir/Noir Cultures course. To the right, you will find a list of the special collections materials that you can choose from, organized into a few categories. You will have seen some of these items in the presentation by Patrick and Danny in the SCRC Classroom on February 8. Alongside items are links to their catalog and finding aid pages, with all of the information you need to request the items when you visit Special Collections.
If you have questions, please contact:
Patrick Williams
Humanities Librarian
315.443.9520 / jpwill03@syr.edu
Pulp Magazines
Nick Carter detective magazine. (covers)
Street and Smith Archive Serial Covers v.12
v.6:no.5 (1936:Jan.)-v.6:no.6 (1936:Feb.)
https://catalog.syr.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=147642
Nick Carter detective library.
Street and Smith Archive Serials N52
no.1 (1891:Aug.8)-no.3 (1891:Aug.22)
https://catalog.syr.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=2059058
10-story detective magazine.
PS648.D4 A162
v.7 no.3 1947 Sept.
https://catalog.syr.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=4197168
Daring romances.
v.11:no.5 (1961:Jan.)
v.12:no.3 (1961:May)
PS648.L6 D37
https://catalog.syr.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=3915285
Fantastic story magazine.
v.2:no.2 (1951:spring)-v.2:no.3 (1951:summer)
PS648.S3 F38
https://catalog.syr.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=3173659
Confidential confessions.
v.10:no.3 (1960:Apr.)
PS648.C66 C66
https://catalog.syr.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=3915720
Clues detective stories
Street and Smith Archive Serials C58
https://catalog.syr.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=2003285
Street & Smith's detective story magazine.
Street and Smith Archive Serials D472
https://catalog.syr.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=2050590
Business & Production Records
Mercury Press Records
Box 90 - Covers, records, manuscript galleys & notes
https://library.syr.edu/digital/guides/m/mercury_press.htm
Street & Smith Records
Box 28 Materials relating to The Shadow.
Box 27 Galleys & notes.
https://library.syr.edu/digital/guides/s/street_smith.htm
Papers of Artists & Writers
Will Jenkins (Murray Leinster) Papers
Box 11 Various Pulp Story materials
Box 13 Various Pulp Story materials
Box 22 Various Pulp Story materials
https://library.syr.edu/digital/guides/j/jenkins_w.htm
Ken Bald Papers
Oversize 1 1957-Apr 1958 (Judd Saxon)
Oversize 9 Jan 1962-Jun 1963 (Dr. Kildare)
https://library.syr.edu/digital/guides/b/bald_k.htm
Theodore Roscoe Papers
Box 2 Story drafts & manuscripts 1920s/30s
https://library.syr.edu/digital/guides/r/roscoe_t.htm
Comics, Film Scores, Radio Scripts, & Production Art
Doc Savage comics.
Street and Smith Archive Serials D63
v.1:no.1 (1940:May)-v.2:no.8 (1943:Oct.)
https://catalog.syr.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=2003550
Chick Carter, boy detective. (radio scripts, 40s)
Street and Smith Archive Scripts C54
https://catalog.syr.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=147161
The Avenger.
Street and Smith Archive Scripts A93
1941:July-1941:Sept.
https://catalog.syr.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=147123
Lawrence Lariar Papers
Box 1 Rocky King, Detective television script 1951
Box 1 Inspector Keene of Scotland Yard
https://library.syr.edu/digital/guides/l/lariar_l.htm
John Prentice Cartoons
Oversize 1 1956 Jan, 1956 Oct-Dec, 1957 Jan-Apr (Rip Kirby)
Map-Case 1, Drawer 100 Dec 18 1957 (Brenda Starr)
https://library.syr.edu/digital/guides/p/prentice_j.htm
Christopher Palmer Collection of Roy Webb Scores
Box 1 Dick Tracy (1945: RKO Radio Pictures) [OS 10]
Box 2 Notorious (1946: RKO Radio Pictures) [OS 26]
https://library.syr.edu/digital/guides/p/palmer_c.htm
General Still Photograph Collection
Box 2
https://library.syr.edu/digital/guides/g/gen_still_photos.htm
Patrick & the SCRC staff will host a research day on Friday, February 24 in the Special Collections Research Center's Spector classrom on the 6th Floor of Bird Library. In order to have time and space for everyone, please select a timeslot for your group to visit. Please email your selection to Patrick at jpwill03@syr.edu before Friday, February 17.
10:00am - 11:00am
11:00am - 12:00pm
1:00pm - 2::00pm
2:00pm - 3:00pm
3:00pm - 4:00pm
During your visit we will also have you fill out a registration form so you may return to SCRC to do further research with these items (or any items) at another time.