ACM Digital LibraryConference proceedings, articles, books, reports, videos, and other publications from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Searches can be expanded to include non-ACM resources.
Sage DataBrowsable and searchable collection of datasets from numerous sources, covering a wide range of subjects.
Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies : FAITS.Information technology reports covering subjects such as infrastructure, security, telecommunications, enterprise systems, vendors, and healthcare and government IT.
IEEE XploreJournal articles, conference proceedings, books, from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the UK’s Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET); includes all Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) published and approved standards
PsycInfoIndex to literature in psychology, and related fields, such as psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, gerontology, and linguistics; published by the American Psychological Association.
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowAbstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
SkillsoftThis link opens in a new windowUsers are required to authenticate with NetID and password. Not compatible with Internet Explorer browser as of April 4, 2022.
Books and videos covering business, engineering, information technology, well-being and more.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database covering numerous fields in arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes access to Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Biosis Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, Essential Science Indicators, Index Chemicus / KCI Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Social Sciences Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Zoological Record.
Wharton Research Data Services: WRDSDatasets for financial, accounting, economic, management, marketing, banking, and insurance information. For a “daypass” URL to be automatically emailed to you, you must enter a valid syr.edu email address. For remote or longer term access, Register at Wharton Research Data Services if you do not already have a WRDS account.
Big Data and Social Media Analytics by Mehmet Çakırtaş (Editor); Kemal Ozdemir (Editor)This edited book provides techniques which address various aspects of big data collection and analysis from social media platforms and beyond. It covers efficient compression of large networks, link prediction in hashtag graphs, visual exploration of social media data, identifying motifs in multivariate data, social media surveillance to enhance search and rescue missions, recommenders for collaborative filtering and safe travel plans to high risk destinations, analysis of cyber influence campaigns on YouTube, impact of location on business rating, bibliographical and co-authorship network analysis, and blog data analytics. All these trending topics form a major part of the state of the art in social media and big data analytics. Thus, this edited book may be considered as a valuable source for readers interested in grasping some of the most recent advancements in this high trending domain.
Publication Date: 2021-07-06
Data Science for Business with R by Jeffrey S. Saltz; Jeffrey Morgan StantonData Science for Business with R, written by Jeffrey S. Saltz and Jeffrey M. Stanton, focuses on the concepts foundational for students starting a business analytics or data science degree program. To keep the book practical and applied, the authors feature a running case using a global airline business's customer survey dataset to illustrate how to turn data in business decisions, in addition to numerous examples throughout. To aid in usability beyond the classroom, the text features full integration of freely-available R and RStudio software, one of the most popular data science tools available. Designed for students with little to no experience in related areas like computer science, the book chapters follow a logical order from introduction and installation of R and RStudio, working with data architecture, undertaking data collection, performing data analysis, and transitioning to data archiving and presentation. Each chapter follows a familiar structure, starting with learning objectives and background, following the basic steps of functions alongside simple examples, applying these functions to the case study, and ending with chapter challenge questions, sources, and a list of R functions so students know what to expect in each step of their data science course. Data Science for Business with R provides readers with a straightforward and applied guide to this new and evolving field.
For additional help outside of my work hours or for immediate assistance, go to https://library.syracuse.edu/get-help for multiple contact options including live chat (available 24/7), text, and email.