Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Digital Humanities Literacy Guidebook
The DHLG introduces digital humanities (DH) to the interested newcomer, featuring introductory project videos; lists of educational resources; and materials on how to engage in the DH community
The Bloomsbury Handbook of Electronic Literature by
Publication Date: 2017-11-30
Crossing disciplinary boundaries, this book explores the foundational theories of the field, contemporary artistic practices, debates and controversies surrounding such key concepts as canonicity, world systems, narrative and the digital humanities, and historical developments and new media contexts of contemporary electronic literature.
Books: Methodology & Reflections
Critical Digital Humanities by
Publication Date: 2019-03-16
As Dobson shows, ideas of scientific validity cannot easily nor should be adapted for humanities research because digital humanities, unlike science, lack a leading-edge horizon charting the frontiers of inquiry.
New Digital Worlds by
Publication Date: 2018-11-15
New Digital Worlds traces the formation of postcolonial studies and digital humanities as fields, identifying how they can intervene in knowledge production in the digital age. Roopika Risam examines the role of colonial violence in the development of digital archives and the possibilities of postcolonial digital archives for resisting this violence.
The Datafied Society : Studying Culture through Data by
Publication Date: 2017-04-15
This book reflects on the role and usefulness of big data, challenging overly optimistic expectations about what it can reveal, introducing practices and methods for its analysis and visualization, and raising important political and ethical questions regarding its collection, handling, and presentation.
The Digital Humanities and the Digital Modern by
Publication Date: 2017-09-06
This book provides new critical and methodological approaches to digital humanities, intended to guide technical development as well as critical analysis. Informed by the history of technology and culture and new perspectives on modernity, Smithies grounds his claims in the engineered nature of computing devices and their complex entanglement with our communities, our scholarly traditions, and our sense of self.
Digital Humanities, Libraries, and Partnerships by
Publication Date: 2018-03-07
The book encapsulates a cultural shift for libraries and librarians and presents a collection of authors who reflect on the collaborations they have formed around digital humanities work. Authors examine a range of issues, including labor equity, digital infrastructure, digital pedagogy, and community partnerships.
Graphs, Maps, Trees by
Publication Date: 2007-09-17
In place of the traditionally selective literary canon of, Moretti offers charts, maps and time lines, developing the idea of "distant reading" into an experiment in literary historiography, in which the canon disappears into the larger literary system.
Distant Reading by
Publication Date: 2013-06-04
How does a literary historian end up thinking in terms of z-scores, principal component analysis, and clustering coefficient? In the ten essays collected in this volume, Franco Moretti reconstructs the intellectual trajectory of his philosophy of ‘distant reading’.
Books: Recent Studies
Data Analytics in Digital Humanities by
Publication Date: 2017-05-12
This book covers computationally innovative methods and technologies including data collection and elicitation, data processing, data analysis, data visualizations, and data presentation. It explores how digital humanists have harnessed the hypersociality and social technologies, benefited from the open-source sharing not only of data but of code, and made technological capabilities a critical part of humanities work.
Distant Horizons by
Publication Date: 2019-02-14
Ted Underwood shows how digital archives and statistical tools, rather than reducing words to numbers (as is often feared), can deepen our understanding of issues that have always been central to humanistic inquiry.
The Shape of Data in Digital Humanities by
Publication Date: 2018-10-24
This book addresses the needs of humanities scholars who seek deeper expertise in the area of data modeling and representation. The authors, all experts in digital humanities, offer a clear explanation of key technical principles, a grounded discussion of case studies, and an exploration of important theoretical concerns.
Towards a Digital Poetics by
Publication Date: 2019-08-14
Towards a Digital Poetics explores this relationship between word and computer, querying what it is that makes contemporary fictions like Dear Esther and All the Delicate Duplicates--both ludic and literary--different from their print-based predecessors.
Word Toys by
Publication Date: 2017-07-25
Brian Kim Stefans questions the influence of game theory and digital humanities rhetoric on poetic production, and how non-digital works, such as contemporary works of lyric poetry, are influenced by the recent ubiquity of social media, the power of search engines, and the public perceptions of language in a time of nearly universal surveillance.
Composition, Creative Writing and the Digital Humanities by
Publication Date: 2017-01-26
Placing the rise of Creative Writing Studies alongside the rise of the digital humanities in Composition/Rhetoric, Adam Koehler shows that the use of new media and its attendant re-evaluation of fundamental assumptions in the field stands to guide Creative Writing Studies into a new era. Covering current developments in composition and the digital humanities, this book re-examines established assumptions about process, genre, authority/authorship and pedagogical practice in the creative writing classroom.
Cyberformalism: Histories of Linguistic Forms in the Digital Archive by
Publication Date: 2018-06-15
Drawing on recent work in cognitive and construction grammar along with tools and methods developed by corpus and computational linguists, Daniel Shore’s Cyberformalism represents a new way forward for digital humanities scholars seeking to understand the textual past. Championing a qualitative approach to digital archives, Shore uses the abstract pattern-matching capacities of search engines to explore precisely those combinatory aspects of language―word order, syntax, categorization―discarded by the "bag of words" quantitative methods that are dominant in the digital humanities.
Information Modelling for Archaeology and Anthropology by
Publication Date: 2018-01-25
Information modelling tasks are a vital aspect of work and study in such disciplines as archaeology, anthropology, history, and architecture. Yet the concepts and methods behind information modelling are rarely covered by the training in cultural heritage-related fields. With the increasing popularity of the digital humanities, and the rapidly growing need to manage large and complex datasets, the importance of information modelling in cultural heritage is greater than ever before. To address this need, this book serves in the place of a course on software engineering, assuming no previous knowledge of the field.
Bodies of Information:Intersectional Feminism and Digital Humanities by
Publication Date: 2019-01-08
Can the digital humanities complicate the basic assumptions of tech culture, or will this body of scholarship and practices simply reinforce preexisting biases? Bodies of Information addresses this crucial question by assembling a varied group of leading voices, showcasing feminist contributions to a panoply of topics, including ubiquitous computing, game studies, new materialisms, and cultural phenomena like hashtag activism, hacktivism, and campaigns against online misogyny
Digital Sound Studies by
Publication Date: 2018-10-26
The digital turn has created new opportunities for scholars across disciplines to use sound in their scholarship. This volume’s contributors provide a blueprint for making sound central to research, teaching, and dissemination. They show how digital sound studies has the potential to transform silent, text-centric cultures of communication in the humanities into rich, multisensory experiences that are more inclusive of diverse knowledges and abilities.
Publication Date: 2018-09-04
Piper introduces readers to the analytical building blocks of computational text analysis and brings them to bear on fundamental concerns of literary scholarship
Teaching with Digital Humanities by
Publication Date: 2018-11-15
The book presents how to use and build digital projects and how to incorporate into already established curriculum.
Plain Text by
Publication Date: 2017-06-20
Drawing on a range of primary sources from both literary theory and software engineering, Dennis Tenen makes a case for a more transparent practice of human–computer interaction. Plain Text is thus a rallying call, a frame of mind as much as a file format. It reminds us, ultimately, that our devices also encode specific modes of governance and control that must remain available to interpretation.
Digital Scholarship in the Humanities
An international, peer-reviewed journal published by Oxford University Press on behalf of EADH and ADHO
DHQ (Digital Humanities Quarterly)
An open-access peer-reviewed journal from ACH. Launched in 2007, DHQ publishes articles, reviews, case studies, and opinion pieces on all aspects of digital humanities, as well as guest-edited thematic and language-specific special issues.
An open-access journal dedicated to the computational study of culture. Its aim is to promote high quality scholarship that intervenes in contemporary debates about the study of culture using computational and quantitative methods.
A refereed academic journal that serves as an Open Access area for formal scholarly activity and as a resource for researchers in the Digital Humanities.
Journal of Digital Humanities
A comprehensive, peer-reviewed, open access journal that features scholarship, tools, and conversations produced, identified, and tracked by members of the digital humanities community through Digital Humanities Now.