Finding Primary Sources

A data source for China Studies which includes (1) China Statistical Databases; (2) China Census Databases; and (3) China Spatial Data Services (China Geo-Explorer I & II and additional China map collections).

Offers data facts and statistical information on a variety of countries, with data ranging from 1815 to the present.

Offers public opinion data in the U.S. Roper iPoll Databank that draws upon academic, media, and commercial polls originating from more than 150 organizations. Covers over one half million polling questions and responses from 1935 to the present.

Includes Moody's/Mergent Corporate Manuals (business descriptions and histories and information on properties, subsidiaries, officers, and financials) going back to 1909; Moody's/Mergent Municipal Manuals (information on issuers of government securities and bonds) going back to 1918; D&B Key Business Ratios (based on private and public financial statements from U.S. corporations, partnerships and proprietorships) going back to 1979; and the Mergent Historical SEC Collection (historical 10-K U.S. public filings in fully word searchable PDF format) going back to 1970.

A repository of historical and current music chart data for sound recording sales and popularity from Billboard and other international agencies. Addresses relative sales rankings for classical, pop, and other recordings, allowing comparison of chart performance by artist, label, song, market, and culture.

A database of polls taken on a variety of subjects all over the world. Each record in the database consists of one poll question and the participants' responses. Indexed by subject matter, publication year, general and specific location, and survey method.

Offers over 160 years (1844-2008) of annual reports from over 800 U.S. companies. Reports include information on financial performance, key officers, competitors, and market trends.