Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archival Mass Media Resources Patrick Mentioned
ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times
Full page scans from The New York Times newspaper with searchable article text back to the first issue in 1851. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within 3 to 4 years of the current date.
ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: The New York Times Recent
Cover to cover page images of the digitized NY Times for 2008 through recent months (3-month embargo).
Starting on or about November 1, NewspaperARCHIVE.com content is only for New York state newspapers, which includes Syracuse newspapers, such as the Post Standard, Syracuse Herald, and more. Some of that content dates from the late 1700s.
Life Magazine Archives
Page image archive of Life Magazine, from November 1936 (issue 1) to December 2000.
Page images of U.S. Vogue from 1892 to present.
Current local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.
Searchable page image archive of Sports Illustrated magazine from 1954 to 2000. Covers professional and amateur sports as well as popular culture, business, and politics.
Searchable page image archive of Esquire Magazine from 1933 to 2014. Topics covered include popular culture, entertainment, and men's fashion.
Searchable page image archive of Time Magazine, from March 1923 through December 2000. Includes photographs and advertisements.
Additional Databases to Check Out
American Underworld: The Flash Press
Newspapers from 1826-1876, covering topics such as crime, sports, urban life scandal, and more, from the American Antiquarian Society collections.
Chicago Defender Archive
Searchable full page images of this influential African American newspaper, covering years 1905-1975.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Publications and popular magazines about the entertainment industry from the late 19th century to 2000.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
Page image Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003.
Music Magazine Archive
Publications from the 1960s-1980s covering popular culture and music from a variety of genres, including rock, folk, hip-hop rap and more.
Proquest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles times under all its title variants. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and covers 1881 up to within about 24 years of the current date.
Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal
Known globally for its coverage of business and economics. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of this publication in 1889. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within about 18 years of the current date.
Service Newspapers of World War Two
Service newspapers from the British Library; Imperial War Museums; US Army Heritage and Education Center, US Army War College; Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand; Berlin State Library - Prussian Cultural Heritage.
Television News Archive
Index to evening news and some special reports from major U.S. national broadcast networks from 1968 to present for ABC, CBS and NBC, 1995 to present for CNN, and 2004 to present for Fox News. NBC and CNN allow video streaming online. Advertising that ran adjacent to reports is often available (e.g., search “commercial” and a brand name). Syracuse University Libraries is a sponsoring institution of the Television News Archive.
Times Digital Archive
The Times Digital Archive provides convenient access to an extraordinary library of back issues of this renowned newspaper online. By taking the microfilm collection of The Times (London) and producing a high-resolution digital format with searchable images, The Times Digital Archive represents unprecedented access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 18th century history and onward.
Gateway to North America: People, Places, and Organizations of 19th Century New York
Manuscripts, travel guides, maps, and other sources covering New York City from the 18th through early 20th centuries. Topics covered include industry, commerce, and immigration, from the collections of the New York Historical Society.
African American Communities
Pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports, and in-depth oral histories covering the experiences of African Americans. Focuses on themes of racism, discrimination and integration, and African American culture and identity primarily in the communities of Atlanta, Chicago, Brooklyn New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina from 1863-1986.