Research Guides: Biomedical and Chemical Engineering: Property Information

Property Databases

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
One simultaneous user only.
Handbook of information related to science and engineering, covering biochemistry, compounds, geophysics, nuclear and particle physics, and including lab data and mathematical tables.

Handbook of Hazardous Chemical Properties
This book provides extensive information on nearly 700 chemicals of commercial and industrial importance, as well as extensive health (toxicological) and safety handling information. It provides chemical specific information pertinent to safe handling and transportation of chemicals, worker protection, emergency response information to address spills, explosions on fire situations, and chemical stability/reactivity data. It is designed as a standard reference handbook for chemical engineers, safety engineers, toxicologists, fire safety specialists, chemists, laboratory and plant technicians.
Knovel - Material Property Search
Knovel's material property search engine finds numeric data hidden in handbooks, manuals, and databases. There are thousands of materials and substances (metals, polymers, ceramics, chemicals, etc.) and more than 100 properties (physical, thermodynamic, electrical, corrosion, toxicity, etc.) to search.

Merck Index Online
The Merck Index* Online contains over 12,000 monographs and is continuously expanded with expert-curated content highlighting only the most relevant literature and patents.

NIST Chemistry WebBook
NIST Chemistry WebBook provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
NIST Standard Reference Data (SRD)
NIST provides 49 free SRD databases.
Perry's Chemical Engineer's Handbook
This edition includes new topics such as biochemical engineering and waste management, plant safety and analysis of plant performance, computer applications, expert systems, material and energy balance, and the handling of hazardous materials
Yaws' Critical Property Data for Chemical Engineers and Chemists
This database contains almost 450,000 data records covering physical, thermophysical, thermodynamic, transport, safety, and environmental properties for over 5000 inorganic substances and over 35,000 organic substances. Coverage also includes solutions, refrigerants, mixtures, building and insulation materials, superheated, saturated, and subcooled fluids, and pure metals and alloys, in addition to Wilson Parameters and activity coefficients for selected binary systems and adsorption capacity for purification of air and water.
Yaws' Handbook of Physical Properties for Hydrocarbons and Chemicals
A compendium of 2 interactive tables containing over 41,000 organic and inorganic chemicals, c1 to c100 organics and Ac to Zr inorganics for Chemists; Chemical engineers; Chemistry students; Chemical engineering students; Process engineers.
Yaws' Handbook of Properties of the Chemical Elements
Source of data for 119 chemical elements from Ac to Zr with 49 different substance properties. The title includes data from physical, thermodynamic, vapor pressure, critical constants, environmental, exposure limits, etc. Element data are presented in 8 fully interactive tables and 24 live equation plotters as well as searchable PDF documents for every element.
Yaws' Handbook of Thermodynamic and Physical Properties of Chemical Compounds
collection of physical, thermodynamic, and transport property correlations for 5000 organic chemical compounds covering C1 to C70 organics. The data is provided in a tabular format with links to an interactive Equation Plotter Applet that graphically represents the temperature correlation relationships for 15 key properties.

Best Bets

Knovel

Users are required to authenticate with their Syracuse University account, email address and password.
Information covering many fields of engineering, providing details about material properties, process and design, best practices, equations and formulations.
Engineering Village

Users are required to authenticate with their Syracuse University account, email address and password.
Allows users to search Inspec, Compendex, GEOBASE, and GeoRef, simultaneously or alone. Covers the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology and includes journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations from 1898 to present.
Scopus

Users are required to authenticate with their Syracuse University account, email address and password.
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, includes Scopus AI.
Web of Science
Abstract and citation database covering numerous fields in arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes access to Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Biosis Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, Essential Science Indicators, Index Chemicus / KCI Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Social Sciences Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Zoological Record.
AccessEngineering
Perry's Handbook for Chemical Engineers, Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers and other McGraw Hill books, videos, graphs, and an Excel calculator tool.

Tips for Property Searching

Search under all synonyms for the property. Example: dissociation constant or pKa or ionisation constant or ionization constant
Determine property symbol and/or unit.
Try searching for a substance by CAS registry number, chemical name, molecular formula, and/or structure.
If searching by chemical name, use various names: Chemical Abstracts (direct or inverted), IUPAC (direct or inverted), common, trade.
If searching by molecular formula, know how molecular formulas are alphabetized in your source.
Organic compounds: Carbon, Hydrogen, others in alphabetical order
Inorganic compounds: May not be indexed as written
Polymers: Try monomer
Example: CHNO or HOCN
Example: KBr or BrK
Example: SO2Cl or Cl2OS
Search under the subject area as well as the property name. Example: If looking for extinction coefficient, also try UV
In print sources, search by using one or more of the indexes. Example: Dictionary of Inorganic Substances has four indexes: Structural Type, Name, CAS Registry Number, and Element
Use the correct truncation symbol when searching online databases.
If you can't find your property data using these resources, try a RESEARCH TOPIC search in CAS SciFinder-n. CAS SciFinder-n's natural language searching is useful for retrieving obscure terminology.

From Tips For Locating Property Data, University of Wisconsin - Madison Chemistry Library, https://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/propertiesguide.

Your Librarian

Juan Denzer

He/Him

Email Me

Contact:

Carnegie Library

Subjects: Biomedical and Chemical Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering