Biomedical and Chemical Engineering

As the biomedical engineering field expands throughout the world, clinical engineers play an evermore-important role as translators between the medical, engineering, and business professions. They influence procedure and policy at research facilities, universities, as well as private and government agencies including the Food and Drug Administration and the World Health Organization. The profession of clinical engineering continues to seek its place amidst the myriad of professionals that comprise the health care field.

Get Cutting-Edge Coverage of All Chemical Engineering Topics--from Fundamentals to the Latest Computer Applications. First published in 1934, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with an expert source of chemical engineering information and data. Now updated to reflect the latest technology and processes of the new millennium, the Eighth Edition of this classic guide provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering-from fundamental principles to chemical processes and equipment to new computer applications. Filled with over 700 detailed illustrations, the Eighth Edition of Perry's Chemcial Engineering Handbook features: Comprehensive tables and charts for unit conversion A greatly expanded section on physical and chemical data New to this edition: the latest advances in distillation, liquid-liquid extraction, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation processes, and chemical plant safety practices with accident case histories Inside This Updated Chemical Engineering Guide Conversion Factors and Mathematical Symbols * Physical and Chemical Data * Mathematics * Thermodynamics * Heat and Mass Transfer * Fluid and Particle Dynamics Reaction Kinetics * Process Control * Process Economics * Transport and Storage of Fluids * Heat Transfer Equipment * Psychrometry, Evaporative Cooling, and Solids Drying * Distillation * Gas Absorption and Gas-Liquid System Design * Liquid-Liquid Extraction Operations and Equipment * Adsorption and Ion Exchange * Gas-Solid Operations and Equipment * Liquid-Solid Operations and Equipment * Solid-Solid Operations and Equipment * Size Reduction and Size Enlargement * Handling of Bulk Solids and Packaging of Solids and Liquids * Alternative Separation Processes * And Many Other Topics!

A State-of-the-Art Guide to Biomedical Engineering and Design Fundamentals and Applications The two-volume Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, Second Edition offers unsurpassed coverage of the entire biomedical engineering field, including fundamental concepts, design and development processes, and applications. This landmark work contains contributions on a wide range of topics from nearly 80 leading experts at universities, medical centers, and commercial and law firms. Volume 1 focuses on the basics of biomedical engineering, including biomedical systems analysis, biomechanics of the human body, biomaterials, and bioelectronics. Filled with more than 500 detailed illustrations, this superb volume provides the foundational knowledge required to understand the design and development of innovative devices, techniques, and treatments. Volume 2 provides timely information on breakthrough developments in medical device design, diagnostic equipment design, surgery, rehabilitation engineering, prosthetics design, and clinical engineering. Filled with more than 400 detailed illustrations, this definitive volume examines cutting-edge design and development methods for innovative devices, techniques, and treatments. Volume 1 covers: Modeling and Simulation of Biomedical Systems Bioheat Transfer Physical and Flow Properties of Blood Respiratory Mechanics and Gas Exchange Biomechanics of the Respiratory Muscles Biomechanics of Human Movement Biomechanics of the Musculoskeletal System Biodynamics Bone Mechanics Finite Element Analysis Vibration, Mechanical Shock, and Impact Electromyography Biopolymers Biomedical Composites Bioceramics Cardiovascular Biomaterials Dental Materials Orthopaedic Biomaterials Biomaterials to Promote Tissue Regeneration Bioelectricity Biomedical Signal Analysis Biomedical Signal Processing Intelligent Systems and Bioengineering BioMEMS Volume 2 covers: Medical Product Design FDA Medical Device Requirements Cardiovascular Devices Design of Respiratory Devices Design of Artificial Kidneys Design of Controlled-Release Drug Delivery Systems Sterile Medical Device Package Development Design of Magnetic Resonance Systems Instrumentation Design for Ultrasonic Imaging The Principles of X-Ray Computed Tomography Nuclear Medicine Imaging Instrumentation Breast Imaging Systems Surgical Simulation Technologies Computer-Integrated Surgery and Medical Robotics Technology and Disabilities Applied Universal Design Design of Artificial Arms and Hands for Prosthetic Applications Design of Artificial Limbs for Lower Extremity Amputees Wear of Total Knee and Hip Joint Replacements Home Modification Design Intelligent Assistive Technology Rehabilitators Risk Management in Healthcare Technology Planning for Healthcare Institutions Healthcare Facilities Planning Healthcare Systems Engineering Enclosed Habitat Life Support

Reviews from the previous edition: "The most indispensable reference in the English language on all aspects of chemical technology... the best reference of its kind". --Chemical Engineering News, 1992 "Overall, ECT is well written and cleanly edited, and no library claiming to be a useful resource for chemical engineering professionals should be without it." --Nicholas Basta, Chemical Engineering, December 1992 The fifth edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology builds upon the solid foundation of the previous editions, which have proven to be a mainstay for chemists, biochemists, and engineers at academic, industrial, and government institutions since publication of the first edition in 1949. The new edition includes necessary adjustments and modernisation of the content to reflect changes and developments in chemical technology. Presenting a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; on industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering; and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. The Encyclopedia describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the wide field of chemical technology, whilst uniquely providing the necessary perspective and insight into pertinent aspects, rather than merely presenting information. Presents the versatile field of chemical technology through articles on properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemical substances and materials, industrial processes and unit operations, along with scientific principles and insights into current research related to the field Addresses such aspects as economic, health and safety factors, standards, specifications and environmental concerns Includes over 1,300 articles Updated regularly to reflect changes and developments in the field (50-60 new or updated articles added each year) Articles are citable and peer reviewed and include bibliography of cited references as well as suggested reading Previous versions of articles are archived for historical reference The Smart Article functionalities were added in 2014, to enable searching for structures and reactions through to the title and across related products, such as journals, databases, and other reference works The last print edition of Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia published between 2004 and 2007 and is available as a comprehensive 27-Volume Set. Since then, a concise edition (2007) and four thematic volumes (2007-2013) on the Environment, Food and Feed Technology, Separation Technology and Cosmetics, have been published and are available in print and e-book formats. 27 Volumes Updating: wileyonlinelibrary.com/ref/kirk

Proudly serving the scientific community for over a century, this 97th edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physicsis an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science. The 97th edition of the Handbook includes 20 new or updated tables along with other updates and expansions. It is now also available as an eBook. This reference puts physical property data and mathematical formulas used in labs and classrooms every day within easy reach. New Tables: Surface Active Chemicals - Table of Properties of the Most Important Surfactants (Solubility, Physical Constants, Critical Micelle Concentration, Hydrophilic-Lipophilic Balance, etc.) Nanomaterial Safety Guidelines - Definition of Terms in Nanoscience; Guidelines for Safe Handling and Disposal Updated and Expanded Tables: CODATA Values of the Fundamental Physical Constants - 2014 values Standard Atomic Weights - 2015 Changes Made by IUPAC Atomic Masses and Abundances - Update of Abundances Surface Tension of Common Liquids - Addition of New Compounds and Updates Basic Instrumental Techniques of Analytical Chemistry - Expansion to Cover Colorimetry and Refractometry Bond Dissociation Energies - Addition of Recently Published Data Photon Attenuation Coefficients - Addition of Absorption Edge Data Classification of Electromagnetic Radiation - Update with Modern Terminology Astronomical Constants - Update with New Recommended Constants Solar System Properties - Updates with Newly Discovered Satellites Interstellar Molecules - Update with Complete List of Molecules Observed to Date Major World Earthquakes - Update through 2015 Atmospheric Concentration of CO2- Update through 2015 Global Temperature Trend - Update through 2015 Abbreviations Used in the Assessment and Presentation of Laboratory Hazards - Update and Expansion Relative Dose Ranges for Ionizing Radiation - Expansion Threshold Limits for Airborne Contaminants - Update to 2015 Recommendations Chemical Carcinogens - Update to 2015 Recommendations of National Toxicology Program

A Dictionary of Chemical Engineering is one of the latest additions to the market leading Oxford Paperback Reference series. In over 3,400 concise and authoritative A to Z entries, it provides definitions and explanations for chemical engineering terms in areas including: materials, energybalances, reactions, separations, sustainability, safety, and ethics. Naturally, the dictionary also covers many pertinent terms from the fields of chemistry, physics, biology, and mathematics.Useful entry-level web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website to expand the coverage of the dictionary. Comprehensively cross-referenced and complemented by over 60 line drawings, this excellent new volume is the most authoritative dictionary of its kind. It is anessential reference source for students of chemical engineering, for professionals in this field (as well as related disciplines such as applied chemistry, chemical technology, and process engineering), and for anyone with an interest in the subject.