Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About this guide
This guide is a starting point for locating resources for your work in WRT 205 - Writing and Organizational Cultures. These collections and resources found on this page are more focused than the general Summon search tool, but you may find additional resources on Summon. If you can't find the resources that you need with the resources linked on this page, I would also recommend checking out research guides for specific topics, such as business and anthropology, that librarians here at SU have created. You can also visit the databases homepage and filter databases by subject, such as "Business & Entrepreneurship," to find additional databases.
Information Literacy Librarian
Scholarly Sources for Organizations
A collection of databases covering a broad range of subject areas such as: business and economics; medical and health; news and world affairs; science; education; technology; humanities; social sciences; psychology; literature; law; and, women's studies.
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
If you experience an error message when using this link please follow these instructions
to set up Google Scholar to connect to SU. Search interface for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, with connections to library-subscribed resources.
Information about Specific Businesses & Organizations
Business Insights: Essentials
Database to research all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 300,000 companies as well as company profiles, industry rating, product brands, company performance ratings, investment reports and ratings, industry statistics, financial overviews, financial ratios, etc.
Comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline
Includes abstracts and full-text from leading business, management, and news publications (such as The Economist, MIT Sloan Management Review, and the Wall Street Journal) as well as dissertations, working papers, and country-and industry-focused reports. Tip: Try using the advanced search with the "Company/organization -- ORG" dropdown when searching for your organization.
Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. 5 simultaneous users only. Please exit when finished. Internet Explorer is the preferred browser. Cookies must be enabled. URL cannot be bookmarked. Tip: Try using the "Company" search bar to search for your organization.
Business Source Elite
Full-text coverage for nearly 1,100 business publications and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,800 journals. Business Source Elite contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including the Harvard Business Review. Tip: Try using the "CO Company Entity" dropdown when searching for your organization.
Popular News Articles, Trade Publications, & Scholarly Articles about Communications
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis)
Access more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, together with extensive current and historical U.S. state and federal statutes, published court decisions and regulations. Registering for a free ID and password within the interface is recommended for those looking to take advantage of personalization features such as alerts, saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
One stop search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases: AltPressWatch, Canadian Newsstand Complete, Ethnic Newswatch, Gannett Newsstand, GenderWatch and ProQuest Newsstand. ProQuest Historical Newspapers are also included, with access to the complete seventy year run of the Chicago Defender and full page scans reaching back to the founding 19th century issues for the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post. ProQuest Newsstand segment includes articles from over 1300 major newspapers, news websites and blogs including New York Times, Wall Street Journal & Washington Post.
The New York Times (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page scans from The New York Times newspaper with searchable article text back to the first issue in 1851. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within 3 to 4 years of the current date.
Alternative Press Index
Indexes almost 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. It is interdisciplinary and international in scope. Other features include selected abstracts, journal record information, and hot links to publisher Web sites.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive provides searchable access to the full-text of more than two dozen major entertainment industry and popular magazines from the late Nineteenth Century to 2000. Titles include the core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater, as well as many film fan magazines and music press titles. Publications are presented in full-color page-image scans, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, advertisements, and reviews.
An audiovisual library of more than 120,000 U.S. and international advertisements (1999-present), including Television, Digital, Print, Radio, and more. Content originates from over 20,000 advertising agencies, each providing critical information, such as Title, Agency, Advertiser, Brand, Taglines, and full credits. Adforum offers playlist features and a search that allows limiting of results to specific industry sectors and product categories in combination with countries of origin and media types. Award winning advertising can also be retrieved by award name and year (e.g., Clio, Effie, One Show, etc).
Communication Source combines Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Advertising, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
Facebook: Our History
Many businesses and corporations share their official origin stories and histories directly on their websites, such as Facebook. Search your chosen organization's website to see whether an official origin story or history is offered.
AP Images Collection
The AP Images Collection database contains images as well as audio recordings captured by the Associated Press and covers depictions of historically notable persons, places and events. The search interface is similar to Communication Source, EBSCO’s database environment for scholarly articles in media studies. For precise relevancy ranking of the deepest chronology of current and older AP photos, be sure to also visit the database called AP Images Classic.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format
Special Collection Research Center @ SU Libraries
Located on the 6th floor of Syracuse University's Bird Library, the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) advances scholarship and learning by collecting and preserving rare books, manuscripts, and other primary source materials. SCRC's collections span time and format, from cuneiform tablets to born digital media. Collection areas include activism and social reform, architecture and design, popular culture, photography, and the history of recorded sound. Click on the above link to search for primary materials located right here at SU Libraries.