Skip to main content
Syracuse University Libraries

Linking to SU Libraries' Online Resources

Learn how to create permanent, sharable, and proxy-friendly links to SU Libraries' online resources

SU Libraries' Proxy Server Prefix

Off-Campus Access and the Proxy Server
With most licensed databases and subscription journals, just copying the URL from the address bar will not provide a usable, sharable link.  In order to create a working link, be sure to include the proxy prefix.  A well-formed link looks like this:

http://libezproxy.syr.edu/login?url=http://site.com

Including the proxy prefix allows off-campus students, faculty or staff to authenticate as SU users. When working from off campus, and sometimes on-campus, the prefix prompts this form:

E Z Proxy Login Window

If you do not see "libezproxy.syr.edu" anywhere in your permalink, paste this entire prefix at the beginning of your permalink URL:

http://libezproxy.syr.edu/login?URL=

 

About Permalinks

Many databases and search engines, like Amazon and YouTube, create session-specific URLs that document how you got to the page as opposed to a static URL. These links may work for a few days or so if copied or bookmarked, but at some point the URL will expire and stop working.

Permalinks are URLs provided by a site that will link directly to that page's information, regardless of the path or search you used to get there. Check out the instructions for each database provided in this guide for collecting permalinks to use in your course website.

About Proxy

Permission to access subscription library databases is determined by your computer's IP address. The IP address range for computers on-campus (including AirOrange) has been registered with our database vendors, allowing access on-campus without using an SU NetID.

For off campus access, a proxy server prefix must be added to the front of each URL. This prefix routes your connection to that URL through the SU Libraries' proxy server, and after entering your SU NetID and password, it authenticates your computer as part of the SU community.

Proxy Instructions

Adjusting an SU Library database URL to go through the proxy server is easy!

  1. Determine if your permalink is already adjusted for the proxy.  Look for "libezproxy.syr.edu" somewhere at the beginning or in the middle of the URL. Some databases never provide permalinks that are configured for the proxy. Other databases may provide either proxied or non-proxied permalinks depending on your computer's location at the time you create the permalink.
    • already adjusted for proxy (will work both on and off-campus)
      • http://syr.naxosmusiclibrary.com.libezproxy2.syr.edu/streamw.asp?ver=2.0&s=7153%2Fsyr09%2F767369 
      • http://libezproxy.syr.edu/login?url=http://syr.naxosmusiclibrary.com
    • not adjusted for proxy (will only work on-campus)
      • http://www.dramonline.org/albums/harry-partch-collection-volume-4
      • http://syr.naxosmusiclibrary.com/stream.asp?s=7153%2Fsyr09%2Frr5105%5F001
  2. If not adjusted, copy and paste this prefix to the front of the original URL. http://libezproxy.syr.edu/login?url=
    • Examples:
      • http://libezproxy.syr.edu/login?url=http://www.dramonline.org/albums/harry-partch-collection-volume-4
      • http://libezproxy.syr.edu/login?url=http://syr.naxosmusiclibrary.com/stream.asp?s=7153%2Fsyr09%2Frr5105%5F001
  3. Not sure?  Check your link from off-campus. SU Libraries' subscription databases will require an SU NetID and password to log in. Be careful, though! Depending on your individual computer's settings, the proxy authentication may last for your entire browser session. You may need to close and re-open your web browser between checking each link.