Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

Equity, Diversity, Accessibility, and Inclusion: Library Resources

Main Research Guide of Syracuse University Libraries Diversity and Inclusion Team

Diverse group of people looking at globes

Selected Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Selected Journals

The following titles are just a few of the many journals Syracuse University Libraries subscribes to that may be of interest.  You can easily search or browse for other journals using the catalog. You will need to login with your NetID and password to access.

From Syracuse University Press

The following are just some of the many excellent items published by Syracuse University Press.  Book descriptions are from the SU Press website.

Sources for Audio Books

These audiobook resources have varying requirements for access.  If you have questions, please contact us.

Demographics, Figures, and Statistics

Disability Statistics   

Numeric Data Resources    

Statistics (Education, Social Work, CFS, MFT, Aging)

Additional sources of demographic and statistical information can be found under the "Diversity in Higher Education" tab at the top

By, for, and about students

Degrees of Difference

University commitments to diversity and inclusivity have yet to translate into support for women of color graduate students. Sexism, classism, homophobia, racial microaggressions, alienation, disillusionment, a lack of institutional and departmental support, limited help from family and partners, imposter syndrome, narrow reading lists--all remain commonplace. Indifference to the struggles of women of color in graduate school and widespread dismissal of their work further poisons an atmosphere that suffocates not only ambition but a person's quality of life.

Confronting Equity and Inclusion Incidents on Campus

This timely book unpacks critical incidents occurring on college and university campuses across the nation. Featuring the voices of faculty, staff, and students, this edited volume offers an interdisciplinary exploration of contemporary diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) challenges at the intersections of race, class, gender, and socioeconomic status, while illuminating lessons learned and promising practices. The narratives in this book articulate contemporary challenges, unpack real events, and explore both failed and successful responses, ultimately shining a spotlight on emerging solutions and opportunities for change. 

Intersectionality and Higher Education

Though colleges and universities are arguably paying more attention to diversity and inclusion than ever before, to what extent do their efforts result in more socially just campuses? Intersectionality and Higher Education examines how race, ethnicity, class, gender, sexuality, sexual orientation, age, disability, nationality, and other identities connect to produce intersected campus experiences. Contributors look at both the individual and institutional perspectives on issues like campus climate, race, class, and gender disparities, LGBTQ student experiences, undergraduate versus graduate students, faculty and staff from varying socioeconomic backgrounds, students with disabilities, undocumented students, and the intersections of two or more of these topics.

Trans* in College

This is both a personal book that offers an account of the author's own trans* identity and a deeply engaged study of trans* collegians that reveals the complexities of trans* identities, and how these students navigate the trans* oppression present throughout society and their institutions, create community and resilience, and establish meaning and control in a world that assumes binary genders.

Being Black, Being Male on Campus

Explores how race and gender matter on campus and how Black males navigate college for academic and personal success.

The Latino Generation

Latinos are already the largest minority group in the United States, and experts estimate that by 2050, one out of three Americans will identify as Latino. By presenting thirteen riveting oral histories of young, first-generation college students, Mario T. Garcia counters those long-held stereotypes and expands our understanding of what he terms "the Latino Generation."

College Hookup Culture and Christian Ethics

Today's Christian adolescents and young adults have grown up with fiercely competing narratives about sex, relationships, and fulfillment. 

Ambitious and Anxious

Over the past decade, a wave of Chinese international undergraduate students--mostly self-funded--has swept across American higher education. This privileged yet diverse group of young people from a changing China must navigate the complications and confusions of their formative years while bridging the two most powerful countries in the world.

Straddling Class in the Academy

Through 26 narratives of individuals from poor and working class backgrounds - ranging from students, to multiple levels of administrators and faculty, both tenured and non-tenured - this book provides a vivid understanding of how people can experience and straddle class in the middle, upper, or even elitist class contexts of the academy. 

The Experiences of Queer Students of Color at Historically White Institutions

This significant text employs an intersectional analysis and considers the role of queer frameworks to understand the experiences of Queer People of Color at historically white institutions of higher education in the U.S. By presenting data from student interviews and reflection journals, the book explores what it means to hold multiple minoritized identities, and asks how such intersections are navigated, contested, and experienced on college campuses.

Special Collections

Databases

This list is just a small sampling of the many databases available through the Syracuse University Libraries that contain information on diversity and inclusion related topics. You will need to login with your NetID and password to access.

Videos

Below are just a few of the more than 20 video databases that Syracuse University Library subscribes to. You will need to login with your NetID and password to access.

It’s Our Story video interview collection

It’s Our Story is a national initiative to make disability history known and accessible.  The 1,300 closed captioned videos are interviews with disability leaders across the country who talk about social issues including, accessible housing, culture and the arts, among others.