MAT - Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Florence Resources - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

MAT: Finding Background Information

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

Lecture Notes in Mathematics
This series reports on new developments in all areas of mathematics and their applications - quickly, informally and at a high level.
A First Course in Differential Equations (eBook)
Designed for the standard post-calculus course in elementary differential equations. It is a brief, one-semester treatment of the basic ideas, models, and solution method.
Matrix Mathematics (eBook)
Covers all of the major topics in matrix theory, including matrix transformations; polynomial matrices; matrix decompositions; generalized inverses; Kronecker and Schur algebra; positive-semidefinite matrices; vector and matrix norms; the matrix exponential and stability theory; and linear systems and control theory.
An Introduction to Probability and Statistical Inference (eBook)
Provides a plethora of examples for each topic discussed, giving the reader more experience in applying statistical methods to different situations.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

MathSciNet (AMS)
Major database to the mathematical sciences, indexing journals, books, proceedings, and thesis published since the early 1800’s. Most references since 1940 include a review and embedded links to references.
Zentralblatt MATH - English
Abstracting and reviewing database in the mathematical sciences, indexing journals, software, formulae, books, and proceedings published since the early 1880’s.
Current Index to Statistics
Database of publications in mathematical statistics and related fields, indexing journals, proceedings, and books from 1975 to the present.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
SCOPUS
Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
Web of Science
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings.