Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LPP: Finding Background Information
For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:
- Europa World
Full-text online version of Europa World Year Book, reference book for political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories.
- Business Insights: Essentials
Database to research all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 300,000 companies as well as company profiles, industry rating, product brands, company performance ratings, investment reports and ratings, industry statistics, financial overviews, financial ratios, etc.
Business reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data.
- MarketResearch.com Academic
Market research reports covering the following industries and categories: business services, consumer goods, food and beverage, demographics, heavy industry, life sciences and technology and media. Sources for reports include Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, Simba Information and Specialists in Business Information (SBI).
- World Development Indicators Online
Contains statistical data for over 590 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
LPP: Finding Articles
For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:
- Business Source Elite
Full-text coverage for nearly 1,100 business publications and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications.
- ABI/INFORM Collection
Index and abstracts to articles from leading business and management publications, including English-language titles from outside the U.S.
- PAIS Index
Chronicles issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more.
- Communication Source
Offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Advertising, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The serials list of the new database is actively under construction, with a focus on expanding international coverage.