Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Florence Resources: EAR

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

• A Dictionary of Earth Sciences
  Offers wide-ranging and authoritative coverage of the earth sciences and related topics, including geology, oceanography, paleontology, minerology, volcanology, and planetary science as well as climatology, geochemistry, and petrology.
   
• Encyclopedia of Earth Science Research
  Presents current research in the study of earth science.
   
• Encyclopedia of Geology, Volumes 1-5
  Covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

• GeoRef
  Contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
   
• ProQuest
  A collection of databases covering a broad range of subject areas such as: business and economics; medical and health; news and world affairs; science; education; technology; humanities; social sciences; psychology; literature; law; and, women's studies.
   
• SciFinder
  Includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations covered in Chemical Abstracts as well as articles currently being indexed, book reviews and biographical information.
   
• Scopus
  Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
   
• Web of Science
  Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings.
   
• BioOne
  Unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring content on a wide-array of today's most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation.

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

Text: 315-464-0744

Chat: Select the "Chat" link on our website.

Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail: libref@syr.edu