Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Florence Resources: PHI

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

• Oxford Companion to Philosophy
  Gives clear and reliable guidance to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day.
   
• Credo Reference
  Offers access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
   
• Oxford Reference Online
  Full-text reference books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
   
• Europe in Its Own Eyes, Europe in the Eyes of the Other (eBook)
  This collection of sixteen essays seeks to answer these questions by focusing on Europe as it is seen through its own eyes and through the eyes of others across a variety of cultural texts, including sport, film, literature, dance, cartography, and fashion.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

• Philosopher's Index
  Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
   
• JSTOR
  Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
   
• Project Muse
  Full-text online access to all journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given.
   
• GenderWatch
  Full-text publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
   
• Contemporary Women's Issues
  Full-text articles on a broad range of women's issues, bringing together such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights.

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

Text: 315-464-0744

Chat: Select the "Chat" link on our website.

Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail: libref@syr.edu