MAR - Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Florence Resources - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

MAR: Finding Background Information

For basic background information, advertisement collections, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

Adforum
An audiovisual library of more than 120,000 U.S. and international advertisements (1999-present), including Television, Digital, Print, Radio, and more. Content originates from over 20,000 advertising agencies, each providing critical information, such as Title, Agency, Advertiser, Brand, Taglines, and full credits.
AdSpender
An online database that tracks millions of brands across 18 media and ranks top spenders by industry, parent, brand, etc.
SRDS Media Solutions
A media planning resource leading to online directories for television and radio broadcasting, digital media, print newspapers and magazines, place-based and outdoor media. In addition to local market profiles and a tool called local market audience analyst, SRDS covers websites, programmatic media planning and digital networks & technology.
WARC
“World Advertising Research Center” contains best practice case studies covering advertising, marketing communications and branding. WARC helps identify effective advertising practices, industry trends, and is a gateway to its own publications (e.g. Admap, International Journal of Advertising) and to videos from advertising campaigns.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

ABI/INFORM Collection
Includes abstracts and full-text from leading business, management, and news publications (such as The Economist, MIT Sloan Management Review, and the Wall Street Journal) as well as dissertations, working papers, and country-and industry-focused reports.
Business Source Elite
Full-text coverage for nearly 1,100 business publications and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications. Contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including the Harvard Business Review.
Communication Source
Offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Advertising, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
Nexis Uni
Full-text files focusing on legal (federal, state, national) news (newspapers, newswires, transcripts), business and industry information.