Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Florence Resources: HOA

For basic background information, art collections, and links to other related resources, check out these reference and image sources:

• Grove Art Online
  Comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
   
• ARTStor
  Collection of 300,000 images for use in the teaching and study of art, architecture and archaeology.
   
• archINFORM
  An international architecture database of 20th century worldwide architects and buildings, built and unbuilt, from past to present.
   
• Visual Culture Studies (eBook)
  Presents 13 engaging and detailed interviews with some of the most influential intellectuals working today on the objects, subjects, media, and environments of visual culture.
   
• Thames & Hudson Dictionary of the Italian Renaissance
  Contains entries covering music, architecture, war, diplomacy, religion, literature and social history, as well as the visual arts.
   
• Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Art and Architecture
  Includes thirty essays divided into five sections: pictures from the inside, Greek and Roman art and architecture in the making, ancient contexts, post-antique contexts, and approaches.
   
• Art and Identity: Visual Culture, Politics and Religion in the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (eBook)
  Overview on aspects of visual culture, and how this was the product of patronage, politics, and religion in some European countries between the 13th and 17th centuries.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

• Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984
  Covering content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications.
   
• Art & Architecture Source
  Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
   
• ARTbibliographies Modern
  Index with abstracts to journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
   
• DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
  Indexes design and craft journals. Covers all aspects of design, including industrial design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, graphic design, advertising, theatre design, design and craft education and design management.
   
• JSTOR
  Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

Text: 315-464-0744

Chat: Select the "Chat" link on our website.

Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail: libref@syr.edu