Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Florence Resources: GEO

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

• Europa World
  Full-text online version of Europa World Year Book, reference book for political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories.
   
• SAGE Knowledge
  Contains social sciences e-books, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more, including some from CQ Press.
   
• Encyclopedia of Human Geography
  Provides cross-cultural coverage of human geography as it is understood in the contemporary world and takes into account the enormous conceptual changes that have evolved since the 1970s, including a variety of social constructivist approaches.
   
• Encyclopedia of Urban Studies
  Addresses the specific theories, key studies, and important figures that have influenced not just the individual discipline but also the field of urban studies more generally.
   
• Green Cities of Europe: Global Lessons on Green Urbanism (eBook)
  Draws on the world's examples of sustainability to show how other cities can become greener and more livable.
   
• Green Urbanism: Learning From European Cities (eBook)
  Describes urban sustainability in European cities, and provides concrete examples and detailed discussions of innovative and practical sustainable planning ideas.
   
• New Urbanism: Life, Work, and Space in the New Downtown (eBook)
  Examines innovative urban redevelopment projects around Europe and North America which are at the forefront of new urbanism.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

• GeoRef
  Index to the geoscience literature of the world. Contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
   
• E.I.U.: The Economist Intelligence Unit
  Objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment for almost 200 countries. Includes reports on certain strategic industries and on the latest management thinking.
   
• GreenFILE
  Makes connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

Text: 315-464-0744

Chat: Select the "Chat" link on our website.

Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail: libref@syr.edu