DES - Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Florence Resources - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

DES: Finding Background Information and Images

For basic background information, art collections, to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

ARTStor
Collection of 300,000 images for use in the teaching and study of art, architecture and archaeology.
Materials Connexion
Provides a quick global view of the latest innovative and often cutting edge materials. Designed to serve the design disciplines broadly.
Business Insights: Essentials
Database to research all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 300,000 companies as well as company profiles, industry rating, product brands, company performance ratings, investment reports and ratings, industry statistics, financial overviews, financial ratios, etc.
Mergent Online
Financial information of public company -- US Company Data Direct, which contains more than 10,000 U.S. companies (including EDGAR (SEC) filings) and International Company Data Direct, which contains more than 17,000 non-U.S. companies.
Hoover's Company Profiles
Contains proprietary information about public and non-public companies and key executives.
IBISWorld
Business reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data.
MarketResearch.com Academic
Market research reports covering the following industries and categories: business services, consumer goods, food and beverage, demographics, heavy industry, life sciences and technology and media. Sources for reports include Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, Simba Information and Specialists in Business Information (SBI).
Plunkett Research Online
Takes you directly to industry-specific research portals for the most important business sectors, from energy to e-commerce and retailing to financial services.

DES: Finding Articles

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

Art Index Retrospective
Covering content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications.
Art & Architecture Source
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
Indexes design and craft journals. Covers all aspects of design, including industrial design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, graphic design, advertising, theatre design, design and craft education and design management.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Business Source Elite
Full-text coverage for nearly 1,100 business publications and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Index and abstracts to articles from leading business and management publications, including English-language titles from outside the U.S.
Communication Source
Offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Advertising, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
Factiva
Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.