Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Florence Resources: CRS

For basic background information, advertisement collections, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

• Visual Culture Studies (eBook)
  Presents 13 engaging and detailed interviews with some of the most influential intellectuals working today on the objects, subjects, media, and environments of visual culture.
   
• Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
  Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials--is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.
   
• Encyclopedia of Rhetoric
  Brings together expertise in classical studies, philosophy, literature, literary theory, cultural studies, speech, and communications in a comprehensive treatment of the art of persuasion.
   
• Oxford Bibliographies Online (Communications subject section)
  Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a range of subject areas. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
   
• Adforum
  An audiovisual library of more than 120,000 U.S. and international advertisements (1999-present), including Television, Digital, Print, Radio, and more. Content originates from over 20,000 advertising agencies, each providing critical information, such as Title, Agency, Advertiser, Brand, Taglines, and full credits.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

• Communication Source
  Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
   
• ComAbstracts
  Contains abstracts of articles and books published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field as well as bibliographic records and audio materials.
   
• ABI/INFORM Collection
  Index and abstracts to articles from leading business and management publications, including English-language titles from outside the U.S.
   
• FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals Plus
  Bibliographical resource offering coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals right up to the present day.
   
• Film & Television Literature Index
  Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
   
• Film Literature Index
  Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
   
• GenderWatch
  Full-text publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
   
• Contemporary Women's Issues
  Full-text articles on a broad range of women's issues, bringing together such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights.
   
• JSTOR
  Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

Text: 315-464-0744

Chat: Select the "Chat" link on our website.

Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail: libref@syr.edu