Resources for Racial Justice: Home

The sections of this guide provides links to a number of resources, including:

1. Anti-Racism Recommended Readings includes readings within our collections and other compiled book lists.

2. Anti-Racism Non-Print Media includes films, documentaries, television series, and podcasts.

3. Anti-Racism Resources for Educators and Parents includes syllabi, curricular resources, and children's book lists.

4. Take Action, Get Involved includes funds, petitions, Black-owned businesses, and resources for protestors.

5. Local Resources and Organizations includes local and regional organizations.

6. Support Resources for Affected BIPOC Communities includes mental health and wellness resources for Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC).

We owe our gratitude to these additional compilations, as well as the labor of their respective authors in creating them; their work helped to inform many of the resources listed included within this guide:

• Anti-Racism Resources for All Ages, compiled by Dr. Nicole A. Cooke – Padlet of “resources for those wanting to educate themselves and our children about anti-racism.” Includes articles, bibliographies, videos, book lists, and other anti-racism resources.
• Anti-Racism Resources for White People, compiled by Sarah Sophie Flicker and Alyssa Klein – “This document is intended to serve as a resource to white people and parents to deepen our anti-racism work. If you haven’t engaged in anti-racism work in the past, start now. Feel free to circulate this document on social media and with your friends, family, and colleagues.” Includes books, podcasts, videos, articles, films and television series, and other anti-racism resources.

Note that this evolving compilation is not an exhaustive list of resources, but potential starting points for your own self-education. We strongly encourage you to do the work to continually self-educate yourself, to reflect, and to take actions beyond what is offered here.

From the BLM website: "#BlackLivesMatter was founded in 2013 in response to the acquittal of Trayvon Martin’s murderer. Black Lives Matter Foundation, Inc is a global organization in the US, UK, and Canada, whose mission is to eradicate white supremacy and build local power to intervene in violence inflicted on Black communities by the state and vigilantes. By combating and countering acts of violence, creating space for Black imagination and innovation, and centering Black joy, we are winning immediate improvements in our lives."

Video: What The World Needs to Know about Black Lives Matter (from the Huffington Post) [2:21]