Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Local Syracuse/Onondaga County & State Data
This page lists various sources of information on the City of Syracuse and/or Onondaga County, New York. Please note that not all sources provide information for both the City of Syracuse and Onondaga County (i.e., there is no Onondaga County School District). Many of the links will take you directly to search results pages; others will bring you to the search forms, lists of links, or city/county/state government pages.
Please note that different sites provided data for different Census geographies. So you understand exactly what area is being described, you can refer to this map of the Syracuse area. We also have a map of Syracuse Neighborhoods (as defined by the Syracuse Open Data project). There is also a list of all the Blocks, Block Groups, and Census Tracts that make up each Neighborhood.
The Syracuse Community Geography site is a very useful mapping site that also includes Syracuse neighborhoods as well as other geogrpahies in Onondaga County.
Additionally, the New York State Data Center compiles a vast amount of data at the city, county and state level. You can also find a vast amount of data at the New York Open Data Portal
Economic and Business
- Economic Census Detailed Information This link brings you to a search form. Click on the "Geographies" button to search for Syracuse or Onondaga County. Note that in the instance, the City of Syracuse is an "Economic Place"
- Bureau of Labor Statistics Economy At A Glance: Syracuse
Crime and Justice
*This is not a comprehensive list
From the Statistical Office of the European Commission. Many publications, data sets, and tables available for free.
International Statistics (UN)
Links to all statistics programmes of the United Nations, of the United Nations Specialized Agencies (FAO, ILO, IMF, etc), and selected Autonomus Organizations (Eurostat, World Trade Organization, OECD, etc).
Macroeconomic Indicators - Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)
Current indicators for Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.
OECD 2015-16 factbook (Discontinued)
Provides data by topic, e.g. health, education/training, information, communication, energy, environment, finance, technology, social welfare, etc. From the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).
OFFSTATS (Univ. of Auckland)
Links to official statistics. Searchable by country, region, topic.
Population Reference Bureau
Provides data on 137 population, health, and environment variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, and the world as a whole. (Not all countries have data on all variables.)
A statistical database maintained by the Statistical Division of the UNECE (United Nations Economic Commission for Europe) Secretariat. Contains statistics on gender, human settlements, economic trends, robotics, gas, demographics, etc. For Europe and North America.
Links to the following unrestricted databases: Millennium Indicators, Social Indicators, City Populations, Good Practices and InfoNation. From the United Nations Statistical Division.
U.S. Census Bureau International Data Base (IDB)
Contains tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world. Searchable by variables and dates covered.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Browsable and searchable collection of datasets from numerous sources, covering a wide range of subjects.
DataONE - Data Observation Network for Earth
Repository of earth observation data from the Data Observation Network for Earth.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research : ICPSR direct
ICPSR is a membership-based organization providing access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. The data archive includes a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law. ICPSR's entire collection is online and available for downloading. User must create free MyData Login while on-campus in order to download data. After the Login is created you will be able to download from anywhere.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Statistical information from the Congressional Information Service, Inc., including access to statistical tables.
Tool for creating maps and visualizations related United States demographics.