MAT - Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Madrid Resources - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

MAT: Finding Background Information

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

Lecture Notes in Mathematics
This series reports on new developments in all areas of mathematics and their applications - quickly, informally and at a high level.
Probability and Statistics (eBook)
Resource which includes vital new coverage of order statistics, best critical regions, likelihood ratio tests, and other key topics.
Basic Concepts of Probability and Statistics (eBook)
Provides a mathematically rigorous introduction to the fundamental ideas of modern statistics for readers without a calculus background.
A Modern Introduction to Probability and Statistics: Understanding Why and How (eBook)
By using examples, often from real-life and using real data,shows how the fundamentals of probabilistic and statistical theories arise intuitively.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

MathSciNet (AMS)
Major database to the mathematical sciences, indexing journals, books, proceedings, and thesis published since the early 1800’s. Most references since 1940 include a review and embedded links to references.
Current Index to Statistics
Database of publications in mathematical statistics and related fields, indexing journals, proceedings, and books from 1975 to the present.
Zentralblatt MATH - English
Abstracting and reviewing database in the mathematical sciences, indexing journals, software, formulae, books, and proceedings published since the early 1880’s
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
SCOPUS
Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
Web of Science
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings.