Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Madrid Resources: FIN

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

• BizMiner
  Produces granular industry statistical reports, offering industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code.
   
• Business Insights: Essentials
  Database to research all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 300,000 companies as well as company profiles, industry rating, product brands, company performance ratings, investment reports and ratings, industry statistics, financial overviews, financial ratios, etc.
   
• Mergent Online
  Financial information of public company -- US Company Data Direct, which contains more than 10,000 U.S. companies (including EDGAR (SEC) filings) and International Company Data Direct, which contains more than 17,000 non-U.S. companies.
   
• Plunkett Research Online
  Takes you directly to industry-specific research portals for the most important business sectors, from energy to e-commerce and retailing to financial services.
   
• Business Owner's Toolkit: Finance
  Provides the information and resources you need to start, run, and grow your business.
   
• U.S. Small Business Administration
  Improve your odds of business success by understanding your financing needs as well as the options that are available to help you start, manage, and grow your business,
   
• Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)
  Contains financial data and history of all entities filing the Report Of Condition and Income (Call Report) and some savings institutions filing the OTS Thrift Financial Report (TFR). These entities include commercial banks, savings banks, or savings and loans.
   
• Federal Reserve Bank Reports
  Uses reporting forms to collect data from bank holding companies, depository institutions, other financial and nonfinancial entities, and consumers.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

• ABI/INFORM Collection
  Index and abstracts to articles from leading business and management publications, including English-language titles from outside the U.S.
   
• Business Source Elite
  Full-text coverage for nearly 1,100 business publications and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications.
   
• EconLit
  Provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. Covers both economic theory and application.
   
• E.I.U.: The Economist Intelligence Unit
  Objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment for almost 200 countries. Includes reports on certain strategic industries and on the latest management thinking.
   
• Nexis Uni
  Full-text files focusing on legal (federal, state, national) news (newspapers, newswires, transcripts), business and industry information.

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

Text: 315-464-0744

Chat: Select the "Chat" link on our website.

Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail: libref@syr.edu