TRF - Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Madrid Resources - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

TRF: Finding Background Information

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials--is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.
A Field Guide for Immersion Writing: Memoir, Journalism, and Travel (eBook)
Offers new perspectives and practical advice for writers of this nonfiction genre.
Metamorphoses of Travel Writing: Across Theories, Genres, Centuries and Literary Traditions (eBook)
The twenty-five papers in this volume rely on a variety of theoretical and methodological approaches and explore a diverse body of travel writing texts created over the last three hundred years.
Writing Travel: The Poetics and Politics of the Modern Journey (eBook)
Collection of essays that demonstrate how travel attempts to reconfigure the world and, in so doing, to become a metaphor for imagination, subjectivity, and representation itself.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

Communication Source
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
ComAbstracts
Contains abstracts of articles and books published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field as well as bibliographic records and audio materials.
Access World News
Full text current content of world-wide news sources, including local and regional newspapers. Coverage includes magazines, blogs, video and audio.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Provides searchable access to the full-text of more than two dozen major entertainment industry and popular magazines from the late Nineteenth Century to 2000.
PressReader
Provides online access to over 5,000 local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.