Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COM: Finding Background Information
For basic background information, advertisement collections, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:
An audiovisual library of more than 120,000 U.S. and international advertisements (1999-present), including Television, Digital, Print, Radio, and more. Content originates from over 20,000 advertising agencies, each providing critical information, such as Title, Agency, Advertiser, Brand, Taglines, and full credits.
- Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials--is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.
- Entertainment, Media and Advertising Market Research Handbook 2015-2016 (opens .pdf file)
- Oxford Bibliographies Online (Communications subject section)
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a range of subject areas. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
COM: Finding Articles
For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:
- Communication Source
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Contains abstracts of articles and books published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field as well as bibliographic records and audio materials.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Provides searchable access to the full-text of more than two dozen major entertainment industry and popular magazines from the late Nineteenth Century to 2000.
- Film & Television Literature Index
Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
- Alternative Press Index
Indexes almost 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines.