Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
QSX: Finding Background Information
For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:
- The Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT Issues Worldwide
Provides an international overview of key issues in the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals and fosters a broader understanding of the status of LGBT in their society.
- Out of the Ordinary: Representations of LGBT Lives
Offers insights into the ways in which lives are not only experienced but portrayed by others as well as by those lesbians, gay men, bisexual and trans people who live them
- Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation.
- Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures
The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality.
QSX: Finding Articles
For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:
- LGBTQ+ Source
Premier resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Designed for academic, professional and public communities.
Full-text publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Alt-Press Watch
Full-text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
- Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts
Coverage includes education, employment, women in the family and community, medicine and health, female sex and gender role socialization, social policy, the social psychology of women, female culture, media treatment of women, biography, literary criticism and historical studies.
- Contemporary Women's Issues
Full-text articles on a broad range of women's issues, bringing together such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights.