LAS - Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Madrid Resources - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

LAS: Finding Background Information

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

Europa World
Full-text online version of Europa World Year Book, reference book for political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories.
An Atlas and Survey of Latin American History
Presents the geography, the demography, and the political, social, and economic history of Latin America. Provides a topical overview of Latin American development from earliest times to the present day, bringing to light patterns of continuity and change.
Mapa Digital de México (Instituto nacional de estadística y geografía)

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

Chicano Database
Bibliographic materials on Mexican-American topics 1960 to the present.
Dialnet - Universidad de la Rioja
Main portal to a collection of thousands of Spanish-language online, full-text journals from all disciplines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. Free access is provided by the Universidad de La Rioja in Spain.
HAPI Online
Bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world since 1970.
HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies
Evaluations of books and book chapters as well as conference papers and articles from more than 1,350 social science and 550 humanities journals and conference proceedings published worldwide in the field of Latin American studies.
LANIC (University of Texas at Austin)
Latin American users with access to academic databases and information services through the Internet world, and provides Latin Americanists with access to information on and from Latin America.