SPA - Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Madrid Resources - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

SPA: Finding Background Information

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

Collins Spanish Dictionary
World’s leading Spanish/English dictionary, revised to cover all the latest vocabulary. Ideal for advanced learners of Spanish.
Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary
Essential vocabulary, clear translations, and usage and grammar help in this English-Spanish dictionary.
Oxford Business Spanish Dictionary
Essential vocabulary, clear translations, usage and grammar help in this English-Spanish dictionary.
Business Spanish Dictionary
Provides a specialist business vocabulary for translators, business people, secretaries, and students. Includes entries with example sentences and quotations, providing comprehensive coverage of all aspects of general business, such as invoicing, insurance, and computing.
Spanish Literature: A Very Short Introduction (eBook)
Introduces a general readership to the ways in which Spanish literature has been read, in and outside Spain, explaining misconceptions, outlining the insights of recent scholarship and suggesting new readings.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

Chicano Database
Bibliographic materials on Mexican-American topics 1960 to the present.
Dialnet - Universidad de la Rioja
Main portal to a collection of thousands of Spanish-language online, full-text journals from all disciplines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. Free access is provided by the Universidad de La Rioja in Spain.
HAPI Online
Bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world since 1970.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
MLA International Bibliography
Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
ProQuest
A collection of databases covering a broad range of subject areas such as: business and economics; medical and health; news and world affairs; science; education; technology; humanities; social sciences; psychology; literature; law; and, women's studies.