Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Madrid Resources: SOC

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

• International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
  Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
   
• Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
  Covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies.
   
• Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
  Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation.
   
• Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures
  The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality.
   
• Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society
  Offers informative coverage of intergroup relations in the United States and the comparative examination of race and ethnicity worldwide.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

• Sociological Abstracts
  Bibliographic coverage of sociology, social work, aging, gerontology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy and other social sciences.
   
• GenderWatch
  Full-text publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
   
• Contemporary Women's Issues
  Full-text articles on a broad range of women's issues, bringing together such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights.
   
• Ethnic NewsWatch
  Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.
   
• Race Relations Abstracts
  Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

Text: 315-464-0744

Chat: Select the "Chat" link on our website.

Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail: libref@syr.edu