BIO - Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Madrid Resources - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

BIO: Finding Background Information

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

Encyclopedia of Ecology
Provides an authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the complete field of ecology, from general to applied.
Princeton Guide to Ecology
Concise, authoritative one-volume reference to the field's major subjects and key concepts within seven major areas: autecology, population ecology, communities and ecosystems, landscapes and the biosphere, conservation biology, ecosystem services, and biosphere management.
National Academies Press
Publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy.
Oxford Reference Online
Full-text reference books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Annual Reviews
Annual reviews in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences and social sciences.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

ScienceDirect
Full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.
BioOne
Unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring content on a wide-array of today's most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation.
SciFinder
Includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations covered in Chemical Abstracts as well as articles currently being indexed, book reviews and biographical information.
Web of Science
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings.
Scopus
Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
ProQuest
The largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.