Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PSC: Finding Background Information
For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:
- Europa World
Full-text online version of Europa World Year Book, reference book for political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories.
- EHRAF World Cultures
Cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
- World Development Indicators Online
Contains statistical data for over 590 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
- United Nations Treaty Collection
Contains full-text of the United Nations Treaty Series, the United Nations Treaty Series Cumulative Index, and the League of Nations Treaty Series, the current status of the Multilateral Treaties deposited with the Secretary-General, and texts of recently deposited multilateral treaties.
- Polling the Nations
Database of polls taken on a variety of subjects all over the world. Each record in the database consists of one poll question and the participants' responses. Records are indexed by subject matter, publication year, general and specific location, and survey method.
- Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
Includes biographies, articles on events, coverage of international trade developments, and a dozen essays on critical issues written by influential figures.
- Handbook of European Union Politics (eBook)
Divided into four sections, focuses on theorizing European integration; the EU as polity; politics and policy making in the EU; and the EU and the international system.
- Human Rights Library (University of Minnesota)
Large collection of links to human rights documents, websites and search engines.
PSC: Finding Articles
For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:
Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, CIAO includes working papers, conference proceedings, books, journal tables of contents, and WWW links.
- PAIS Index
Chronicles issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The serials list of the new database is actively under construction, with a focus on expanding international coverage.