History of Education in the United States

The Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education provides a comprehensive introduction to the social and cultural foundations of education. Key Themes · Arts, Media, and Technology · Curriculum · Economic Issues · Equality and Social Stratification · Evaluation, Testing, and Research Methods · History of Education · Law and Public Policy · Literacy · Multiculturalism and Special Populations · Organizations, Schools, and Institutions · Religion and Social Values · School Governance · Sexuality and Gender · Teachers · Theories, Models, and Philosophical Perspectives · A Visual History of American Education

Published annually since 1985, the Handbook series provides a compendium of thorough and integrative literature reviews on a diverse array of topics of interest to the higher education scholarly and policy communities.

The history of American education is a vital and productive field of study. This reference book provides factual information about eminent people and important topics related to the development of American public, private, and parochial schools, covering elementary and secondary levels.

The history of women's education in the United States presents a continuous effort to move from the periphery to the mainstream, and this book examines both formal and informal opportunities for girls and women. Through an introductory essay and nearly 250 alphabetically arranged entries, this reference book examines institutions, persons, ideas, events, and movements in the history of women's education in the United States.

The Oxford Handbook of Disability History is the first volume of its kind to represent disability history and its global scale, from ancient Greece to British West Africa. The twenty-seven articles, written by thirty experts from across the field, capture the diversity and liveliness of this emerging scholarship. Whether discussing disability in modern Chinese cinema or on the American antebellum stage, this collection provides new and valuable insights into the rich and varied lives of the disabled across time and place.