Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Take a moment to think about your topic. Define your topic by asking yourself a set of questions. Turn your topic into a research question (a thesis topic). Think of words and phrases to use in a search for information regarding your topic. If nothing works, change your search terms to find more specific or more general information. Remember you can always ask for research help from a librarian.
Writing a paper- how to begin
When you write a paper or give a presentation you need to have a topic( thesis topic), and you must reference your sources according to one citation manual.
Library home page. Summon searches almost everything
Advanced search will help narrow your searches and the left side has more tools to specify your research.
Print Resource Databases
Art, architecture, and archaeology images including images from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America.
Art & Architecture Source
Journals, books, and images covering fine arts, decorative and commercial art, architecture and architectural design.
Grove Art Online
14 simultaneous users only.
The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols) covering both Western and non-Western art, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh Brigstocke (2001), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition).
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Hard copy journals
The latest hard copy journals are located on the second floor of Bird Library, and can not be checked out. Bound journals can be requested from the storage facility.