Research Guides: Environmental Studies: Databases

Essential Databases

Environmental research encompasses many subject areas and perspectives. The following are suggested starting points for articles and more, but you may also want to explore the full list of databases.

You will need to go through SU's Proxy or through Single-sign-on to access the databases in this box. For free open access databases see the box below this one.

Applied Science and Technology Full Text
Trade, professional and technical society journals and magazines, covering applied sciences, computing, engineering and more from 1983 to present.
BioOne
Bioscience research journals covering agriculture, biology, ecology, environmental sciences, zoology and more.
Environmental Studies and Policy
Journals on environmental issues and policies, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, and corporate interests. Provided by NOVELNY.
GEOBASE
GEOBASE includes the latest information on earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, and environmental sciences.
GreenFILE
Index to publications covering the environment, sustainability, green buildings, energy, recycling and more.
Scopus
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science
Abstract and citation database covering numerous fields in arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes access to Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Biosis Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, Essential Science Indicators, Index Chemicus / KCI Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Social Sciences Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Zoological Record.

OA Databases

Climate Change and Human Health Literature Portal
From the NIH -A global peer-reviewed research and gray literature database on the science of climate impacts on human health.
EcoLex
Environmental Law from sources produced by a joint initiative of the IUCN, UNEP, and FAO.

ENERGYFILES
ENERGYFILES is the world's only comprehensive oil and gas production, consumption, and activity forecasting service. At this site you may access general information about all the oil and gas producing countries in the world. Requires free registration.
National Centers for Environmental Information
Weather data and publications from the National Centers for Environmental Information, which is part of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).
Science.gov
Databases of scientific research publications from numerous sites, including the Department of Energy (DOE), Department of Defense (DOD), the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).
SciTech Connect
OSTI's Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database of energy related scientific reports, conference papers, articles, books, patents in numerous fields including chemistry, physics, environmental science, geology, engineering, math, and more, from 1948-present.
Soil Surveys
Soil maps and geospatial data for more than 95 percent of the nation's counties; also includes reports and monographs.
Treesearch
Publications from the U.S. Forest Service on ecology, wildlife, forest health, and more.
USDA Forest Service (USDA/FS Research Publications Database)
Publications of the United States Department of Agriculture's Forest Service covering ecology, geology, environmental science, and more .
Water Resources Reports
United States Geological Services (USGS) publications about water, including articles, data, maps, pamphlets, reports, and videos.