Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When searching library databases keep an eye out for this symbol:
The SULinks widget helps connect indexed content in the database you are searching to available full-text content in the library's almost 500 databases.
Clicking the SULinks button will open up a window that offers you SUL content retrieval choices including full-text online, print holdings via the SUMMIT catalog, or InterLibrary Loan options.
Academic and Trade Journals
African American Newspapers : the 19th Century.
This collection of newspapers contains a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. They also contain large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
African Journals Online: AJOL
ACCESS NOTE: Free registration required.
Index of African-published journals covering agricultural sciences, science and technology, health and social sciences. Includes TOCs, abstracts, and links to online full-text where available. Backfile maintained for five years. Document delivery service available.
Alternative and independent press newspapers, magazines, and journals, from 1970 to present; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio
guide for access information.
Black Studies Center
Scholarly essays, articles, historical newspaper articles, related to Black Studies, from fields such as literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion.
Black Thought and Culture : African Americans to 1975
Primary and secondary non-fiction writings, speeches, interviews, trials and other materials by black Americans.
Contemporary Women's Issues
Articles on women's issues covering such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights. Coverage starts with 1992.
Environmental Health and Toxicology
The Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program creates, organizes, and disseminates toxicology and environmental health information and provides scientific and consumer-oriented resources.
Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio
guide for access information.
Articles, news stories, books and reports and archival content focusing on gender.
Index to publications covering the environment, sustainability, green buildings, energy, recycling and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.
Publications related to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender communities.
National Library of Medicine health information for medical professionals and consumers about health, wellness, drugs and supplements, medical terminology, and clinical trials.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE and citations from additional life science journals, from the National Library of Medicine.
Race Relations Abstracts
Index and abstracts to articles covering race relations, ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and more.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts
Index and abstracts to articles covering women and gender studies, including education, employment, family and community, medicine and health, social policy, media, biography, history, and more.
Water Resources Reports
United States Geological Services (USGS) publications about water, including articles, data, maps, pamphlets, reports, and videos.
Women and Social Movements US 1600-2000
Primary source resources, including pamphlets, letters, speeches, and publications from women's organizations, archives, and other sources across the United States.
Women's Studies International
Index to women's studies and feminist research literature published in journals, newsletters, bulletins, books reports, dissertations and grey literature.
Open Access Journals/Sources
Contributions in Black Studies (CIBS)
Contributions in Black Studies: A Journal of African and Afro-American Studies (CIBS), was a periodical publication of the Five Colleges, Inc.: Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, and Smith Colleges and the University of Massachusetts, that appeared more or less annually from 1977 to 1997. The W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies at UMass Amherst is pleased to provide open access to the articles that appeared in CIBS through this electronic repository.
The Crisis, founded by W.E.B. Du Bois as the official publication of the NAACP, is a journal of civil rights, history, politics, and culture and seeks to educate and challenge its readers about issues that continue to plague African Americans and other communities of color.
The Scholar & Feminist Online Journal
With this issue of The Scholar & Feminist Online, Issue 10.1-10.2, Fall 2011/Spring 2012, the Barnard Center for Research on Women celebrates our ongoing collaboration with Queers for Economic Justice. (Journal website)