Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Suggested Databases for Vocal Performance and Pedagogy
Music coverage, 1965 to present; good for pedagogy, performance, vocal health, and some music history
Indexes "Journal of Singing," "NATS Journal," and "Classical Singer."
Music Periodicals Database
Music coverage, 1874 to present; Good for pedagogy, performance, music history, music education
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Music coverage, 1900 to present; Good for music history and performance
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary coverage, with significant music content; Good for any topic
Education coverage; Good for music education, choral education, and vocal pedagogy
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Dissertations; Multi-disciplinary content; good for any topic
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes Journal of Voice
Science coverage; Good for the scientific aspects of diction, vocal physiology, vocal health, acoustics, and performance psychology.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes Journal of the Acoustical Society of America
Science coverage; Good for the scientific aspects of diction, vocal physiology, vocal health, acoustics, and performance psychology
Science coverage, with a focus on communications and linguistics; Good for diction and vocal physiology
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Science coverage with a focus on medicine. Good for the medical aspects of diction, vocal physiology, psychology
Digital and Open Access Resources
At Carmen Abroad explore the way in which Carmen has travelled across the globe, being reshaped by different performance traditions, narratives and modes of storytelling as well as the ways in which Carmen was adapted, appropriated and reconfigured to suit local audiences.
Opera fans, academics, performers and professionals can follow the history of Carmen through our map and timeline, documenting performances between 1875-1945.
Journal of Singing Access
Journal of Singing, published by NATS (National Association of Teachers of Singing), has changed titles over the years. Different date ranges are available through different access methods.
Browse Trade Journals & Magazines