Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

English & Literature Resources: Citing Sources in MLA

A subject guide to assist your research of topics in English and Literature assembled and maintained by the English subject specialist librarian.

MLA Style Manual in Print

The most complete information about MLA style can be found in the official MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. This handbook is available at the SU Library.  Check for specific location and availability.

Proxy Link

The MLA Style

MLA: Modern Language Association

MLA style for documentation is widely used in the humanities, especially in writing on language and literature.

From the MLA website:

Create Bibliographies

Zotero has two ways to quickly create fully formatted bibliographies with citations in your library.

  1. Drag-and-drop - simply select items in the center column and drag them into any text field.  Citations are formatted in your default output style.
  2. Right click  - highlight one or more references and then right-click to select “Create Bibliography from Selected Item(s)," select a citation style for your bibliography format and create your bibliography in a RTF file, HTML file, save it to your clipboard or print it.

See more on creating bibliographies from Zotero.