Research Guides: English and Literature Resources: Databases & Indexes to Scholarly Literature

On this list...

Use the databases on these lists to locate full-text articles and references for articles for your research. These databases have been selected to assist you in identifying literature and criticism resources.

Full-Text Databases of Articles and Book Chapters

Citation Indexes & Bibliographies

More databases, on a wide variety of subjects are also available from the Database Main Menu.

Discovering Authors

You may be interested in using our library resources to discover work by different authors. The ProQuest One Literature, our largest literature database, supports sophisticated searching for primary texts by authors, which you can search/filter by characteristics of ethnicity, gender, and more.

ProQuest One Literature
Click "Primary Texts" and then use the search boxes for Author nationality, ethnicity, and gender to explore.

Proxy Prefix

proxy.txt

Full-Text Databases of Articles & Book Chapters

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Modern Language Association bibliography of publications related to language, literature, folklore, and linguistics.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Project Muse
Journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
ProQuest One Literature
Library of English and American literature.
Essay and General Literature Index
Index to essays covering a wide range of subjects, with coverage from 1985.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Articles about critics and criticism, covering theorists, schools and movements.

Citation Indexes and Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Annotated bibliographies browseable by subject and searchable. Links to full text may need to supplemented by searching SU Libraries collections.
Bibliography of English Women Writers 1500-1640
Bibliography of works related to women writers from 1500-1640, including writers of works in French, Greek, Latin, Spanish, Irish Gaelic, Scottish Gaelic and Welsh.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Annotated entries for books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1965 and early 2004.
International Medieval Bibliography-Online
Index to journal articles and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften) comprising 300,000 articles. Updated quarterly the IMB-Online covers publications from 1967-present with enhanced search capabilities (by periods, places, persons, and texts).
Iter
Citations in journals, books and reviews related to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), including Paul Oskar Kristeller's Iter Italicum list of Renaissance humanisitic manuscripts.