TheBell Brothers Collection of Latin American & Caribbean Recordings
Syracuse University Libraries' Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) has recently made available the first batch of recordings from their Latin American 45's collection, digitally transferred and preserved by the Belfer Audio Archive. Recordings are able to be streamed from any public workstation in Bird Library.
The Belfer Cylinders Digital Connection provides online access to digital audio files of cylinders in the Belfer Audio Laboratory and Archive. Belfer's cylinder collection includes over 20,000 cylinders, 12,000 of which are unique titles.
The Belfer Latin American 45s Collection provides access to over 12,000 recordings held in the Belfer Audio Laboratory and Archive. The bulk of these recordings date from the 1950s to the early-1960s, and include many rare and little-known issues on small independent record labels from Cuba, Puerto Rico, Brazil, Mexico, the United States and elsewhere.
"Digital collection of over 8,000 cylinder recordings... listen to thousands of musical and spoken selections from the late 19th and early 20th centuries, and discover a little-known era of recorded sound." Recordings licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 2.5 License.
Listen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
This website is a research portal for piano rolls digitized from the Stanford Libraries’ collection of over 15,000 piano and organ rolls. As of November 2019, the website includes 456 Welte-Mignon T-100 rolls (colloquially called “red welte” rolls since they typically use red paper).
"Looking for music for a video, school project, game you’re developing, podcast or just for listening in your cubicle or mobile music device? Find exactly the music you’re looking for - podsafe, liberally licensed - using dig.ccMixter Music Discovery tool."
"focused on improving access and exposure to music by creating free resources and educational materials. We provide recordings, sheet music, and textbooks to the public for free, without copyright restrictions. Put simply, our mission is to set music free."
"This library contains over two hundred thousand free digital recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users."
Mixxx integrates the tools DJs need to perform creative live mixes with digital music files.
Whether you are a new DJ with just a laptop or an experienced turntablist, Mixxx can support your style and techniques of mixing.
With MixPad, create unlimited audio, music, and vocal tracks, and record single or multiple tracks at the same time. MixPad includes free sound effects and a music library with hundreds of clips at your disposal.
Audacity is a popular audio player, editor, mixer, and recorder. Become a virtual DJ with this free program for Windows, Linux, and macOS.
Record live music with Audacity as well as computer playback. Convert tapes and records to digital files or put files on discs. Edit WAV, MP3, MP2, AIFF, FLAC, and other file types, plus cut, copy, mix, and splice sounds together. You can even record calls with Audacity.
"Working with renowned electronic and experimental musicians such as Lakker, Roly Porter, and Bas Mooy, the project from the Netherlands Institute for Sound and Vision draws on global archives and museums to encourage legal, creative reuse of historic sounds."
We brought Matthew Herbert into the British Library's Sound Archive where he made a playlist from over five million different unique recordings of music, sound and spoken word. The recordings heard on the show are accessible on the Library's http://sounds.bl.uk/ website.
Remix Theory is an online resource by Eduardo Navas that offers some of his research on Remix.
Navas focuses on Remix itself as opposed to Remix Culture. In this site you will find a brief definition of Remix, which is examined more extensively in essays that will be added to this website as they become available.