It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
Access note: only one simultaneous user Biographical dictionary of about 17,500 notable American men and women from all eras of American history who are no longer alive. Includes illustrations and hypertext links to other web resources.
Search SUMMON for Books
Search SUMMMON for your topic keywords and limit to Content Type --> Book to find book chapters or books
Search for News Articles
Consider the date of publication!
Contemporary reviews and news provide a different perspective than writings published decades later.
Full page scans from The New York Times newspaper with searchable article text back to the first issue in 1851. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within 3 to 4 years of the current date; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
Search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases including Alt-PressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, US Newsstream, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Text visualization options for selected newspapers are available on the TDM Studio platform; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
The Chicago Defender (1905-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Starting on or about November 1, NewspaperARCHIVE.com content is only for New York state newspapers, which includes Syracuse newspapers, such as the Post Standard, Syracuse Herald, and more. Some of that content dates from the late 1700s.