Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Online Resources
The databases where you can find articles are in alphabetical order and NOT according to importance, since each researcher will have different thesis and needs
Art Index Retrospective : 1929-1984
One simultaneous user only.
Articles, interviews, reviews, yearbooks and museum publications, from 1929-1984.
Index and abstracts to articles, essays, reviews, and more covering modern and contemporary art from the 19th century to the present.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Art, architecture, and archaeology images including images from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
14 simultaneous users only.
The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols) covering both Western and non-Western art, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh Brigstocke (2001), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Generate Keywords for Searching
Take a moment to think about your topic.
Define your topic by asking yourself a set of questions.
Turn your topic into a research question (a thesis topic).
Think of words and phrases to use in a search for information regarding your topic.
If nothing works, change your search terms to find more specific or more general information.
Remember you can always ask for research help from a librarian.