Please see the ITS website on EndNote for license and purchase options for Faculty, Staff, and Students.
A 30-day Trial is available for new users.
Trials:
http://endnote.com/downloads/30-day-trial
Complete user guides are available from EndNote:
There are a two versions of EndNote available:
The Libraries aim to provide and recommend to our patrons accessible products whenever possible. Current citation management tools offer varying levels of support for disabled users, so we encourage you to try out each until you find the one that best meets both your research and access needs. If you have questions regarding accessibility of citation tools, need assistance addressing accessibility concerns with a citation tool, or have recommendations, please contact the accessibility librarian.
EndNote is a desktop software designed to help store and organize bibliographic references in the "libraries" (collections) on user's own computer equipment. Users can create separate bibliographies or insert citations from their libraries into papers they are writing by using the "cite while you write" feature. Users can also enter references into the libraries manually or download them from online databases.
Working from a previous version? Compare features and see the difference.
Note: EndNote 21 was released in June 2023. The comparison chart is not updated to include version 21.
|
|
X8 |
X9 |
EndNote 20 |
|
User interface |
|
|
|
|
Redesigned modern interface |
|
|
✓ |
|
Reference summary which puts critical information first |
|
|
✓ |
|
Redesigned easy search experience |
|
|
✓ |
|
Redesigned PDF viewer with annotation tools |
|
|
✓ |
|
Web of Science integrations |
|
|
|
|
Get Manuscript Matcher suggestions directly from Cite While You WriteTM and desktop |
|
✓ |
✓ |
|
Create a Citation Report from EndNote desktop with your Web of Science subscription |
|
✓ |
✓ |
|
Share |
|
|
|
|
Share your entire library with read-only or read-and-write access |
|
✓ |
✓ |
|
Share your entire library with others |
✓ |
✓ |
✓ |
|
Activity feed with shared library member activity |
✓ |
✓ |
✓ |
|
Automation and full-text management |
|
|
|
|
Deduplication by DOI and/or PMCID |
|
|
✓ |
|
Automatically find and apply bulk reference updates |
✓ |
✓ |
✓ |
|
Imports PDF files found by EndNote Click |
|
✓ |
✓ |
|
Find full text with one click |
✓ |
✓ |
✓ |
|
Extraction of DOIs and other embedded metadata from imported PDFs |
✓ |
✓ |
✓ |
|
Auto-import of PDFs from a folder |
✓ |
✓ |
✓ |
|
Automatically create groups when importing folders and subfolders of PDFs |
✓ |
✓ |
✓ |
|
EndNote online |
|
|
|
|
Cross-platform library syncing across desktop, online, and iPad |
✓ |
✓ |
✓ |
|
Unlimited storage space for full text and file attachment |
✓ |
✓ |
✓ |
|
Unlimited number of references in EndNote online |
✓ |
✓ |
✓ |
|
Cite |
|
|
|
|
Hyperlinked in-text citations |
✓ |
✓ |
✓ |
|
Search across external databases |
✓ |
✓ |
✓ |
|
Customize citation styles |
✓ |
✓ |
✓ |
More videos are available from EndNote's YouTube Channel
