Research Guides: New York Times: Print Edition Access

Quick Links To Print Edition NY Times (via ProQuest)

Back issue print edition New York Times content is available (without need for personal subscription) via Syracuse University Libraries:

Proquest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851 thru to within 4 to 5 years of the current date - full page image scans)
Proquest Recent Newspapers: The New York Times (2008 thru to within 3 months of the current date - full page image scans)
ProQuest (article text only up thru current date). ProQuest also collects some article text from the New York Times website (excluding multimedia elements).

Links to Other Databases Containing New York Times articles

These databases offer access to major article content (and sometimes page images) from the current and historical New York Times newspaper.

ProQuest News and Newspapers
Search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases including Alt-PressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, US Newsstream, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Text visualization options for selected newspapers are available on the TDM Studio platform; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
News
1985 - current; Use the database's advanced search or its publications search to limit results to New York Times content. Gale Onefile News (formerly, InfoTrac Newsstand) is a collection of news sources harvested from well over 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspaper titles as well as leading titles from around the world. Also contains newswire copy, radio and television news transcripts and embedded news audio and video files from programming such as the Today Show, 60 Minutes, National Public Radio, New York Times, Washington Post, FOX, Bloomberg Television and video files from numerous local U.S. TV news station websites. Gale Onefile News also includes an embedded "listen" feature for audio narration of content, and an online tool enabling automatic translation of English language text into several other major world languages.
Nexis Uni
News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.
Factiva
1980-current. New York Times article retrieval is available here via keyword searching only; Factiva does not support browsing thru all major articles in a given issue(s) of the New York Times. No page images are available - only plain article text from the major articles appearing in each issue of the NYT.
NewspaperARCHIVE.com
New York state newspapers, including Syracuse newspapers, such as the Post Standard, Syracuse Herald, and more. Some of that content dates from the late 1700s.

Browsing To Specific NYT Back Issues

News databases offer advanced search features where search results can be limited so only New York Times results display. Proquest databases - offer user friendly browsing to a back issue(s) of the New York Times newspaper for a specific publication date(s). See screen shots below.

Once inside ProQuest News & Newspapers database - if wishing to "browse" to specific back issues, instead of searching keywords, click on the publications link to browse to a specifically dated New York Times newspaper back issue(s). 1851-current

Once inside Proquest Historical Newspapers - The New York Times database - click on the publications link to browse to a specifically dated NYT newspaper back issue(s). 1851-to within 3 to 4 years of the current date. See also Proquest Recent Newspapers: The New York Times for page imaged coverage from 2008 thru to within 3 months of the current date.

More Newspaper Databases

Want to explore other SU Libraries news databases? Visit the Library's: