Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources for General Research Help
Need more help researching the collections? Below are some resources from the SU Libraries that can be used for additional assistance.
SCRC Reference Assistance
Already familiar with our collections? Still confused on how to search at SCRC? Ask the reference librarians here.
SU Library Subject Guides
View all the SU Library Subject Guides here. You can browse by subject or by author.
Links to tutorials and guides to assist library users.
Research assistance, information on borrowing library materials, library study space information, and technology assistance can all be found here.
Graduate and Faculty Resources
Library contact information, library services, research support, and teaching and classroom support can be found here.
Useful Online Tutorials
Other useful online tutorials on topics such as Research Strategies, Finding Primary and Secondary Sources, Evaluating Sources, and Scholarly vs. Popular Resources.
Creating a Works Cited list or Bibliography? Use this guide to make citations easy.
Catalog Search With Drop-Down Menu
Special Collections & Archives Resources
A searchable index of archive and special collections descriptions from thousands of archives, museums, and libraries.
Use the links below to find more information relating to archival and special collections repositories.
The Library of Congress National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections.
New York State Newspaper Project
A compiled list of New York State newspapers in print and on microfilm and where to find them.
A database of copyright information for writers, artists, and other creators of copyrighted materials compiled by the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas at Austin.
Rare Book Resources
Search thousands of booksellers and rare books at AbeBooks.
Find out what makes books "rare" or determine if you have a rare book with these web resources.
A search engine encompassing over 150 million books, including rare and antiquarian selections.
Your Old Books
Learn about what makes books rare in "Your Old Books," a publication of the Rare Books and Manuscripts Section of the American Library Association.
WorldCat is the largest network of library content and services. Use WorldCat to search the collections of libraries in your area and around the world.
More Library Subject Guides
Browse more SU Libraries subject guides here or by following the links below.
Learn about the collections at SCRC's Belfer Audio Archive on Sound Beat, the daily 90 second radio show that highlights the Belfer collections of recorded sound.