Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACLS Humanities E-book
A collection of thousands of e-books in the Humanities that includes material on the history of Africa, the Americas, Asia, Australia/Oceania, Byzantium, the Caribbean, Europe (including Central Europe and Eastern Europe/Russia), and the Middle East.
Produced by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique. A specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works on all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilization. Covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, including early Christian texts and patristics; history and archaeology; art and music; religion and mythology; philosophy; science; and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology, and epigraphy. Includes citations to journal articles and books, with abstracts in English, German, Spanish, French, or Italian.
FRANCIS offers extensive bibliographic indexing for over 2.5 million records from 1972 to 2015. Produced by Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS), the database provides multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Source documents include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports. FRANCIS is a multilingual, multidisciplinary database covering the humanities and social sciences. Its broad subject areas and international scope make it an ideal stand-alone social science database, as well as a suitable complement for more specialised databases.FRANCIS is strong in areas such as archaeology, geography, linguistics, philosophy, religion, and sociology. The database contains abstracts in French or English, and descriptors in both languages, and includes coverage of journals, books, conference papers and other documents.
No longer being updated.
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Annotated bibliographies browseable by subject and searchable. Links to full text may need to supplemented by searching SU Libraries collections.
Classic texts in philosophy.
Indexes to books and journals covering philosophy, including ethics, aesthetics, political philosophy, and philosophy related to specific fields, such as law, education, and science.
Archive of papers related to philosophy, including metaphysics, epistemology, science, logic and other fields.
Journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Streaming Video Database
Kanopy is a database with a large streaming video collection on many topics. Try search terms "philosophy", "political philosophy", "ethics", "cognitive science" or a search term of your own to see videos in the collection that relate to your topic.
To access titles, click on LOG IN TO SYR or WATCH THIS buttons at bottom of screen, and not LOG IN at upper right of screen. If you cannot find a title on Kanopy, please use the SU Libraries’ Request a title form
Academic streaming video collection containing educational titles as well as U.S. and international feature films. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning. The platform video player is WCAG-compliant.